anonymous treatmill workoutAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“If we are to experience permanent recovery from compulsive eating, we will have to repeat, day after day, the actions that have already brought us so much healing.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 83

In a way, I am happy that mine is an obsessive compulsion to eat.  When I replace it with a series of repetitive tools and processes, my obsessive nature is quite at home.  Even on those days when I want, with all I am, to defy what I know to be good for me, the new habit of denying myself is there for me to lean on.  I am now obsessive about prayer, about writing, about devotion, about sticking to my healthy plans of eating and action, and supporting my abstinence.   Only when I deny the cravings of my natural self can I build my spiritual self.

 

From Proverbs 18:

1 An unfriendly man pursues selfish ends;
he defies all sound judgment.”

“Unfriendly” is an understated descriptor of me prior to recovery.  Most people who knew me had more unpleasant terms for it.  I thought this verse was timely, given the previous thoughts on the choice between what one knows and what one wants.  The wants are always detrimental because, even if they are not immediately harmful in themselves, they lull me into the error of expecting to get my way.  The best spiritual exercise I can think of, besides prayer and worship, is self-denial.  Self-denial has got to be one of the best spiritual exercises I can think of, right up there with prayer, worship, giving, and sober self-appraisal.  For an insane food hoarder like me, self-denial comes before and between all the others, and is called “abstinence.”

 

I’ve got to cut things short today.  Service opportunities await my attention.  Love all; harm none!

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

