Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Those of us who live this program don’t simply carry the message; we are the message.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

I recently heard someone refer to a hotel bell-hop regarding this statement.  He is neither the owner nor creator of the bags he carries.  He is responsible for the containers and contents only so far as he is assigned to carry them.  Imagine the steward who, after receiving his charge, curled up comfortably and perused the contents at his leisure rather than delivering it to its destination.  He wouldn’t be employed for long!  I, likewise, have no exclusive rights or ownership of the Twelve-Step Program of Recovery or the God who applied it to me and empowered me to take these steps.  What I have is the blessing of a responsibility to live well and share what I have gained with others, so that I may keep it.  As soon as I decide to retire from my “job” of carrying the message, I cease to be a steward of that message and forfeit any justification for it to be in my hands.

 

From Proverbs 17:

24 A discerning man keeps wisdom in view,
but a fool’s eyes wander to the ends of the earth.”

A Fool’s Eyes Wander” could be the title of my biography!  What other thing might I want?  What next might I endure?  What else might I be doing if not this?  How else could I be wasting the moment God has given me to live right now?  Wisdom examines the past and plans for the future, but resides in the moment.  God, grant me the wisdom to discern!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Zechariah 7, 8, and 9:

7:5b …was it really for me that you fasted? And when you were eating and drinking, were you not just feasting for yourselves?”

God criticized the condition of the people’s hearts during the observance of their religious holidays.  The observances He instituted to honor Him had become just another occasion for the greedy to hoard and the self-righteous to put themselves on display.  Sound familiar?

7:This is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘Administer true justice; show mercy and compassion to one another. 10 Do not oppress the widow or the fatherless, the alien or the poor. In your hearts do not think evil of each other.’”

8:13 As you have been an object of cursing among the nations, O Judah and Israel, so will I save you, and you will be a blessing. Do not be afraid, but let your hands be strong.”

We are to trust God, but that trust should empower us to be diligent to demonstrate compassion, not just sit back and wait for deliverance like some sort of providential indulgence.

9:Rejoice greatly, O Daughter of Zion!
Shout, Daughter of Jerusalem!
See, your king comes to you,
righteous and having salvation,
gentle and riding on a donkey,
on a colt, the foal of a donkey.”

I love to read the descriptions of my King written long in advance of His coming!  This statement was fulfilled on Palm Sunday, when Jesus entered Jerusalem for the last time.  Remember the cheers?  “Hosanna to the son of David!  Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!  Hosanna in the highest!”  (Matthew 21:9, Mark 11:9-10, John 12:13, “Hosanna” – A Hebrew expression meaning “Save!” which became an exclamation of praise)

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The European Drinker”:

“Where preaching and prayers had touched me very little, I was immediately impressed with desire for further knowledge of these men. ‘There must be something to it,’ I said to myself. ‘Why would these busy men take the time to come to see me? They understand my problem. Like me, they’ve tried this remedy and that remedy but never found one that worked. But whatever it is they are using now, it seems to keep them sober.’

“‘You’ve been trying man’s ways and they always fail,’ he told me. ‘You can’t win unless you try God’s way.’ I had never heard of the remedy expressed in just this language. In a few sentences he made God seem personal to me, explained Him as a being who was interested in me, the alcoholic, and that all I needed to do was to be willing to follow His way for me; that as long as I followed it I would be able to overcome my desire for liquor.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

