Starter PistolAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I’ve got family in town, so the family that lives near me is tugging at me to go this way and that, and all the while I have very much otherwise to do.   The vacationers and the retirees in the mix are not very patient with those of us who still have schedules to keep.  I am resolving that I am powerless over others and their sense of satisfaction.  I will do all I can and count on God to either satisfy them or teach them His will for them, while I do my best to follow His will for me.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Each twenty-four hours is vital and precious, when I totally turn over my life and my will to a power that has more wisdom than I can ever hope to have. I don’t know how I got where I am, or where I’m going; but my Higher Power does. So I’ll trust God to guide me, and pray for the good sense to listen.” — Lifeline Sampler, p. 212

In my disease, I lived my life based on “someday.”  Someday, I will start this project or that diet; someday I will finish whatever I thought I was suffering through; someday God will take me to Heaven and until then I will woefully tolerate the annoyances of earth and its inhabitants.  God doesn’t connect with me someday, but now.  Even my past is made up of by-gone moments of the present.  Looking back, I can see that I wasted so many of them looking forward to something else.  I was given this moment to live.  Perhaps I will be given another, but I don’t know.  I will live this one as best I know how, reaching to live even this next one slightly better.  I will not just tolerate those around me, but stretch myself to help them more and harm them less, seeing each one not as an obstacle, but as an opportunity to reflect God’s power, love and way of life into the eyes of someone new, not later but now.  As I do, I see more of Him in each one, and I feel His approval growing about me as I grow into Him.

 

 

From Proverbs 16:

20 Whoever gives heed to instructions prospers,

and blessed is he who trusts in the LORD.”

“Heed” is what happens when “heard” meets “deed.”  It is faith that moves toward what one believes, and life more abundant is the reward of faith.  Doing what I feel like doing will corrupt me and ultimately lead to my death.  Listening to and following the instruction that I receive from God and His agents of healing, safety, wisdom, and spiritual insight all promote my own vitality.  What a blessing it is to follow God’s Way and be in His will!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Zechariah 4, 5, and 6:

4:6b ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the LORD Almighty.”

This was a strangely timed utterance of an angel with whom Zechariah spoke, in response to Zechariah admitting he did not understand a vision he saw.   The vision was of a gold lampstand with a bowl at the top and seven lights on it, with seven channels to the lights (4:2).  On either side of the lampstand was one of two olive trees.  The angel explained that the lamp was the seven eyes of the LORD (4:10), and that the olive trees were “the two who are anointed to serve the Lord of all the earth” (4:14).   This awe inspiring vision aside, the word of God here is pertinent to me.  The context was the reconstruction of the Temple, but the message applies to me in my everyday life.  Whatever I do, I do it “not by might nor by power, but by [God’s] Spirit”!

Chapter 5 had a vision of a scroll, which was the curse of judgment (5:3); and another of a woman in a measuring basket, transported by winged women to Babylonia for a time yet to come (5:11).  Chapter 6 contained a vision of horse-drawn chariots, which are the “four spirits [or winds] of heaven” (6:5).  Then Zechariah gets orders to take up a collection, fashion a crown, and place it on the head of Joshua the high priest, who was to be given a message:

12 Tell him this is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Here is the man whose name is he Branch, and he will branch out from his place and build the temple of the LORD.  13 It is he who will build the temple of the LORD, and he will be clothed with majesty and will sit and rule on his throne.”

Joshua, Jeshua, and Jesus are all the same name; and it is Jesus, the Branch of David, who would be the final fulfillment of this prophecy.  Joshua was a foreshadowing of Jeshua (Jesus) of Nazareth.

This is great timing for a message such as this, especially given the VOR meditation today.  To us this day is born a savior who is Christ the Lord.  Not someday, not whenever I get done with these resentments or plans, or when I feel like I am secure enough to let go of the habits that shame me into putting Him off, but today, right now, Christ the Messiah, the Promised One, is offering Himself to me and to all humanity, for the relationship He longs to have with each and every one of us.  The gift of Christmas doesn’t have to wait until December 25th, or Easter, or any other day.  It is now!  I choose to receive Him!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 25:

“When, therefore, we were approached by those in whom the problem had been solved, there was nothing left for us but to pick up the simple kit of spiritual tools laid at our feet.  We have found much of heaven and we have been rocketed into a fourth dimension of existence of which we had not even dreamed.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

