botanical mortarAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Today, I get to wrap up some domestic chores and go to get my son from the airport.  He will be home for a month before returning to school.  I look forward to seeing him, yet I am bracing myself to deal with him in tolerant peace.

It bears mentioning that I have been a week without caffeine at the suggestion of my doctor, with whom I consulted on an integrated alternative medical approach.  I have been using some herbal solutions and have discontinued my proton pump inhibitor (GERD medicine) and, so far, so good.  I suspect that medication for several other infirmities that appear in its list of possible side-effects, and was eager to rid myself of it, since I have been taking it (or something like it) since 1991.  Initiating this homeopathic remedy has meant the elimination of coffee, of one of my “superfoods“.   Yes, it has occurred to me that the gloomy feeling of the last week may be associated with caffeine withdrawal.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Those who are prone to stuff themselves with food that makes their bodies unsightly are refusing the food that satisfies and soothes the unhappy soul within.” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, p. 243

A natural extension of celebrating being part of God’s creation is for me to fuel my body with His natural creation.  As I continue to seek His will for me and the power to carry that out, I find better fuel sources, and continue to refine my willingness to use them instead of the processed, packaged toxins the market has used to exploit my illness and keep me sick.  This meditation called to mind a Scripture I recite as further celebration of God’s providence, Psalm 16:5-6:

Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup;
you have made my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.”

Another thought I had as I read this entry was that the food Jesus Christ, my Higher Power, spoke of was “the Bread of Life,” and not the bread of flour and yeast.  “35 Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.’(John 6:35)   He even spoke of what sustained Him.  “‘My food,’ said Jesus, ‘is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.’(John 4:34)

When I put these things together I get freedom, peace, and motivation to do the next right thing.

 

 

From Proverbs 13:

The sluggard craves and gets nothing,
but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.”

19 A longing fulfilled is sweet to the soul,
but fools detest turning from evil.”

These two verses just seemed to connect themselves today.  I remember how I vehemently resisted change and how, regardless of consequences, my self-will wanted me planted on the couch in the dark eating ice cream.  I sat in that homemade dungeon of despair, whining that God seemed unwilling to love me enough to deliver me into a sleek, muscular body, popularity, and self-esteem.  The longings I had were completely disjointed, the craving for self-gratifying food and leisure, and the rewards of a healthy lifestyle without all that annoying work and self-sacrifice.  When I began to ask for God’s will, I gradually began to crave it more than mine.  The longing I have today is to live according to God’s plan and purpose.  In serving Him as a faithful son, I feel like royalty.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Zephaniah 1, 2, and 3:

Zephaniah’s message is one of impending wrath.  The problem of an audience only wanting to hear good news and ignore the parts they don’t like is not a new one, and it’s not localized only to Twelve-Step groups.  The prophets who told what was coming were mostly ignored.  Zephaniah’s prophecy is more global than the others seem to be.  I get the impression that what happened to Israel and Judah was a foreshadow of what will come to the rest of the world.  This fits one popular end-times hypothesis as I understand it: that there will be a removal of the faithful (a “rapture”) just as many of the Jews were exiled to safety in Babylon; next a crushing devastation, like there was of Jerusalem; then a brief period of want, suffering, and despair (a “tribulation”); followed by a triumphant deliverance to the New Jerusalem, a rebuilt Temple of the Everlasting God.  It makes one wonder.

1:18 Neither their silver nor their gold
will be able to save them
on the day of the Lord’s wrath.
In the fire of his jealousy
the whole world will be consumed,
for he will make a sudden end
of all who live in the earth.”

2:Seek the Lord, all you humble of the land,
you who do what he commands.
Seek righteousness, seek humility;
perhaps you will be sheltered
on the day of the Lord’s anger.”

3:14 Sing, O Daughter of Zion;
shout aloud, O Israel!
Be glad and rejoice with all your heart,
O Daughter of Jerusalem!
15 The Lord has taken away your punishment,
he has turned back your enemy.
The Lord, the King of Israel, is with you;
never again will you fear any harm.”

 

 

From Overeaters Anonymous (Second Edition), Chapter 7:

“As the program says, when the spiritual malady is overcome, the emotional and physical recovery come naturally and easily.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

