Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“As we repeatedly act on Step Ten, we begin to see the remarkable way the Steps will, from now on, continue to remove unnecessary turmoil and pain from our lives… More gifts are in store for us as we continue working the program and experiencing the miracle of permanent recovery, one day at a time.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, pp. 89–90

 

From Proverbs 10:

17 He who heeds discipline shows the way to life,
but whoever ignores correction leads others astray.”

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Nahum 1, 2, and 3:

1:The Lord is good,
a refuge in times of trouble.
He cares for those who trust in him,

    but with an overwhelming flood
he will make an end of Nineveh;
he will pursue his foes into darkness.”

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Stars Don’t Fall”:

“My child was being exposed to all of this. She was also the victim of my scolding and incessant nagging. I was really scolding my mortal enemy, the inner me.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

