Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“‘The only requirement for OA membership is a desire to stop eating compulsively.’ — Tradition Three

“…So for today, I will not give up. I will just keep trying, with my Higher Power helping me along the way. I will become a much happier person with my life held in my Higher Power’s loving embrace.”

 

From Proverbs 8:

30b I [Wisdom] was filled with delight day after day,
rejoicing always in his presence,
31 rejoicing in his whole world
and delighting in mankind.”

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Micah 1 through 4:

4:All the nations may walk
in the name of their gods;
we will walk in the name of the Lord
our God for ever and ever.”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 55:

“For faith in a Power greater than ourselves, and miraculous demonstrations of that power in human lives, are facts as old as man himself.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

