Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We’re always happy to share our secret: the Twelve Steps of Overeaters Anonymous, which empower each of us to live well and be well, one day at a time.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 106

From Proverbs 7:

Keep my commands and you will live;
guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.”

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jonah 4:

But the Lord replied, ‘Have you any right to be angry?’”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 82:

“The alcoholic is like a tornado roaring his way through the lives of others. Hearts are broken. Sweet relationships are dead. Affections have been uprooted. Selfish and inconsiderate habits have kept the home in turmoil. We feel a man is unthinking when he says that sobriety is enough.”

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

