Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am in a state that can only be described as emotional relapse.  All sense of what I had recovered is gone except the return to food.  I guess I can be grateful for that, and for the knowledge that God is still in control, whether I am confined in the dark belly of a great despair or recently coughed up onto dry land.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Before we joined the OA Fellowship our prayers for help might have gone unanswered simply because we were never meant to face this disease in isolation.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 15

 

 

From Proverbs 6:

How long will you lie there, you sluggard?
When will you get up from your sleep?”

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Jonah 3:

10 When God saw what they did and how they turned from their evil ways, he had compassion and did not bring upon them the destruction he had threatened.”

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 25 and 26:

“We were in a position where life was becoming impossible, and if we had passed into the region from which there is no return through human aid, we had but two alternatives: One was to go on to the bitter end, blotting out the consciousness of our intolerable situation as best we could; and the other, to accept spiritual help. This we did because we honestly wanted to, and were willing to make the effort.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

