White Flag of SurrenderAbstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I often forget that what I think of other people is none of their business, or anyone else’s.  My failure to remember that completely warped my yesterday, causing harm to at least one person if not more.  My emotional tirade over that failure benched me for the rest of the day from helping anyone else.  What a waste!  I’ve got to put the “promptly” back in Step Ten.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Surrender does not mean that I take no action; it means that I take action and surrender the results.”

Even before I surrender the results, I have to surrender the motivation, then the plan, then the specifics.  If I keep mixing the same ingredients in the same way under the same conditions expecting to yield a new cuisine, I am either a fool or insane.  What I feel like hasn’t changed, so I can’t follow that; so I follow God’s direction rather than my baser instincts.  What I do has corrupted my life and that of those around me; so I surrender those to the actions I know are the will of my Father who created me.  The timing and circumstances have never been under my control, except insomuch as I have failed to budge waiting for perfection to occur before I begin; so I get up and do the next right thing as God directs and empowers me.  As a child, I resisted taking out the trash.  As Mom nagged and complained about my failure to address the overflowing garbage cans, gradually my annoyance at her incessant harping overcame my desire to remain at ease, and so I submitted to her will, got up, and took out the trash.  Surrender in a Twelve-Step Program like Overeaters Anonymous is similar.  I do not get credit for making the trash, packaging the trash, collecting it, taking it to a disposal location or recycling it.  If there was anything for which I might claim credit it was getting off my butt and following the simple direction I was given.

 

 

From Proverbs 3:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding”

My way doesn’t work.  I know because I’ve leaned on it and fell through.  It corrupted my health, my relationships, my career.  My life was in disorder.  Trusting God and His infinite wisdom, care, and provision for me has been so much healthier, saner, and cleaner!  I have heard this verse all my life, but never really got it until recovery.  Thank God for the Twelve Steps!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Obadiah:

Edom was severely chastised for its celebration over Israel’s fall to Babylon.  It is a reminder to me not to rejoice at the calamity of others, even my enemies.  Mentioned in this chapter is the Biblical law of Sowing and Reaping, termed by some Eastern religions as “Karma.”  It is the truth that “what comes around goes around.”  This has specific meaning in this chapter, as it pertains to the Day of the Lord, and the promise that judgment is coming to all mankind.

The pride of your heart has deceived you…”

15 The day of the Lord is near
for all nations.
As you have done, it will be done to you;
your deeds will return upon your own head.”

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 84:

“Continue to watch for selfishness, dishonesty, resentment, and fear. When these crop up, we ask God at once to remove them. We discuss them with someone immediately and make amends quickly if we have harmed anyone. Then we resolutely turn our thoughts to someone we can help.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

