Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

The Food for Thought entry today was about flexibility.  It said, “Flexibility and spontaneity are possible when abstinence is firm.”  Today, I have a tight schedule, but my plan of eating remains.  Some days I have to change things around, but bounce within the happy safety of my abstinence.  As long as I stay inside those lines, I am free to do what I need to do, even if it is outside my normal routine.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…immature love tries to possess and control.” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, p. 245

I was thinking recently about how immature my love has been even into my adulthood.  I was listening to a radio commentator speak about perfect love as described in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 and, like a pastoral counselor encouraged me to do a long time ago, I tried to substitute my name in the text to see if the passages fit.  Unfortunately, many still do not.  Fortunately, God is not done making me the person I will become.

If you would like to try the exercise, here is the text in prompted form:

__________ is patient,

__________ is kind.

__________ does not envy,

__________ does not boast,

__________ is not proud. 

__________ is not rude,

__________ is not self-seeking,

__________ is not easily angered,

__________ keeps no record of wrongs. 

__________ does not delight in evil but

__________ rejoices with the truth. 

__________ always protects,

__________ always trusts,

__________ always hopes,

__________ always perseveres.

__________ never fails.

Isn’t it good to know that this is not a final exam, but a pre-test?  Now it’s time for Steps Seven, Eight, and Nine!

I heard an acronym yesterday for WIN.  The closing of today’s VOR entry reminded me of it.  WIN stands for “What’s Important Now?”  If we keep focused on the one primary thing, the peripheral concerns won’t be so distracting.  The VOR contributor puts it this way:

“Now choices are more blended into the question of ‘How important is it to my recovery?’ The action of the program principles keeps me focused on what is vital for each moment.”

 

 

From Proverbs 29 (NKJV):

“He who is often rebuked, and hardens his neck,
Will suddenly be destroyed, and that without remedy.”

This goes well after the yesterday’s thoughts on the loving correction of the Father.  I don’t know how long I have before the veil between earth and spirit is lifted, but I want to be found flexible and diligently working toward perfection, even if it doesn’t come while I am here.  That willfulness that makes me clench my teeth and fists when things don’t go my way was the same poison that made me overeat, and it is the same toxic sludge that tries to keep me from surrendering everything I am and all I have to God.  This is one area in which procrastination will not do!  I surrender all!

 

I Surrender All, performed by The Issacs

.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Amos 4 and 5:

God seems an exasperated Father in Amos 4, and He recalls the attempts He had made to bend the will of man.  He got my attention with verse 6 when He called out the insatiable appetite that was supposed to serve as a hunger for God, but I always medicated it with selfish indulgences.

‘I gave you empty stomachs in every city
and lack of bread in every town,
yet you have not returned to me,’
declares the Lord.”

11 ‘You were like a burning stick snatched from the fire,
yet you have not returned to me,’ declares the Lord.”

“12 Therefore … prepare to meet your God, O Israel.” (excerpted for emphasis)

In Amos 5, God pleads with His children to return to Him.

14 Seek good, not evil,
that you may live.
Then the Lord God Almighty will be with you,
just as you say he is.
15 Hate evil, love good;
maintain justice in the courts.
Perhaps the Lord God Almighty will have mercy
on the remnant of Joseph.”

God, I turn from sin and self, and offer all I am to You and Your service.  I thank You for the call by which You have brought me to Your saving grace.  Continue to develop me into a tool of good use to You.  Please don’t stop re-making me until You collect me to Your side.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 84:

“We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us what we could not do for ourselves.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

