Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I did not do all I had to do, but I will get by having done what I could.  Now is time to live today.  I’ve got a packed schedule with a return to work right in the middle of it.

(NOTE:  It was so busy I didn’t have time to do half my normal reading and writing, and this posted a day late!)

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The celebrations of this day will be over at midnight, and tomorrow I will wake up glad to be alive and abstinent.” — For Today, p. 151

This sounds like it was meant for a holiday, but I would apply it to any day of any week.  No matter what is going on, the sun will only be up for a certain amount of time, and at the end of the day, I will cycle back to bed and start over the next morning.  These 24 hours, I celebrate the life I have today!

 

From Proverbs 27 (NKJV):

1 Do not boast about tomorrow,
For you do not know what a day may bring forth.”

How timely!  Like I said, the day I’m living is the only one I have to celebrate.  I will live it as best I can, trusting God to provide in it, and whatever other days He may decide in His wisdom to give me.

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

