Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We give up fear and indecision, knowing that if we are sincere our Higher Power will give us the knowledge of our best course in life, along with the willingness and ability to follow that course, even when it seems difficult and uncomfortable.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 24

Does anybody like fear and indecision?  How about their older siblings, apprehension and mayhem?  Giving them up shouldn’t be much of a sacrifice, but the Twelve Steps don’t specifically spell out the turning over of fear and indecision.  What they address is self-will.  I have always wanted my way even though I was never sure my way would ever be good enough.  I’m not sure I want what I want, but I’ve got to have it or else!  I was, as my sponsor put it, “an egomaniac with an inferiority complex.”  Turning my will and my life over to the care of God has liberated me from guilt, shame, fear, worry, regret, indecision, terror over my inability to control the universe, and, oh yeah, the weight of that universe!  Whatever God has for me to do, it won’t be as difficult and fearful as the expectations I had for myself.  Besides, as I am proving day by day, no matter what comes, God is still in control; and as long as that remains true, I’ll take whatever comes!

 

 

From Proverbs 25 (NKJV):

28 Whoever has no rule over his own spirit
Is like a city broken down, without walls.”

The condition is one of ruin and vulnerability, and it is produced by the lack of spiritual rule over oneself.  This is why I am grateful for a problem that led me to a spiritual program of recovery.  It’s like my walls are repaired and I am not exposed and alone anymore.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Joel 1, 2, and 3:

Strange prophecy, this Book of Joel!  I am not so vain as to pretend I understand it.  On first reading it, it appears that it predicts things that have not yet happened: locust army invasions and fire consuming earth (Chapter 1), the Day of Judgment and Redemption (Chapter 3).  In between, however, is the promise of God’s outpouring of the Holy Spirit on all men, which Peter said, in Acts 2, was fulfilled on the Day of Pentecost after Jesus’ ascension into Heaven.  Either my knowledge and recollection of history is failing me, or this prophecy, like some others, refers to cyclical occurrences of varying depths and magnitude – that is to say that “what has been will be again; what has been done will be done again.”  (Ecclesiastes 1:9)   Since God put it in the Bible twice, once in the Old Testament and once in the New, it certainly warrants quoting here!

28 And afterward,
I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your old men will dream dreams,
your young men will see visions.
29 Even on my servants, both men and women,
I will pour out my Spirit in those days.
30 I will show wonders in the heavens
and on the earth,
blood and fire and billows of smoke.
31 The sun will be turned to darkness
and the moon to blood
before the coming of the great and dreadful day of the Lord.
32 And everyone who calls
on the name of the Lord will be saved;
for on Mount Zion and in Jerusalem
there will be deliverance,
as the Lord has said,
among the survivors
whom the Lord calls.”

Thank You, Lord Jesus, for Your call.  Find me faithful to respond!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 13:

“There I humbly offered myself to God, as I then understood Him, to do with me as He would. I placed myself unreservedly under His care and direction. I admitted for the first time that of myself I was nothing; that without Him I was lost.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

