Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Food for Thought today said:

“One of the strengths of our fellowship lies in the fact that we place principles before personalities. OA is not a social club. We form meaningful and lasting friendships, but personal friendship is always subordinate to the program itself.”

I may have allowed personalities to take precedence over principles in the past.  I cannot otherwise explain why I travel thirty minutes across town to a meeting, when there are two closer by on the same morning.  Today I will explore one of the closer ones.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Think gratefully how fortunate you are to have a disease that can be arrested, one day at a time, simply by not taking that first compulsive bite.” — Before You Take That First Compulsive Bite, Remember…

Close association with a quadriplegic gives me perspective on this.  No matter how willing or committed my friend becomes, he cannot change his dependence on his wheelchair.  We compulsive eaters can change with the right attitude toward God and ourselves.  I am not just grateful for a disease that led me to such a wonderful solution and a life of freedom, but grateful for a disease the solution to which only required spiritual surgery and not physical.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 24 (NKJV):

1 Do not be envious of evil men,
Nor desire to be with them;
For their heart devises violence,
And their lips talk of troublemaking.”

I do not wish to detract from the reality of spiritual warfare, but I heard a suggestion once that the term “self-serving” could be substituted for the word “evil” in most Scriptures.  When this text is so translated, I am relieved of the pangs of envy I might have had watching the self-serving gorge themselves this past week, or other such indulgences of self as one might witness.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Hosea 14:

1 Return, O Israel, to the Lord your God.
Your sins have been your downfall!”
“I will heal their waywardness
and love them freely,
for my anger has turned away from them.”

As a grafted-in branch of Israel’s inheritance, I am honored to hear God’s loving call to repent, turn around, to return to Him.  His healing love calls to all men now.  That is the Good News of the Gospel of the fulfillment of the Law and Prophets in Jesus:  Grace has come to Israel and to all!

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “How It Works” page 70:

“If we are sorry for what we have done, and have the honest desire to let God take us to better things, we believe we will be forgiven and will have learned our lesson. If we are not sorry, and our conduct continues to harm others, we are quite sure to drink. We are not theorizing. These are facts out of our experience.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

