Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I’m dealing with an extra dose of shame today.  I have been grossly negligent in checking behind one of my online payment tools and, by the time I discovered an unexplained failure of that system last night, the amount in arrears was overwhelming.  Amends to self and the payee moving forward will require a more mature and attentive diligence.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“What we needed now was a way of being abstinent over the long haul and living sanely through good times and bad.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 21

The addict’s swan song is, “Forget everything; I’m indulging!”  For me, that is the jigger of alcoholic insanity I must not drink again.  Abstinence from that momentary attitude and from certain other foods and behaviors that lie on the bank of it, is what paves the path of sanity and sobriety and allows me to meet with confidence the obstacles of bad times and good, as is the case with a family-centered holiday such as Thanksgiving.  The idea of ‘long haul’ abstinence would have scared me out of trying 24-hour abstinence before it grew into what it is today.  But thanks to God and the encouragement of the fellowship, I have been shown the ‘way of being abstinent over the long haul and living sanely.’  It is by doing so one moment, one prayer, one craving, one meal, one hour, one day at a time!

 

 

 

From Proverbs 21 (NKJV):

16 A man who wanders from the way of understanding
Will rest in the assembly of the dead.”

God continues to confirm, in my reading, that recovery is doing its part in God’s refining of my character and life.  This proverb is congruent with the VOR thought, and serves to remind me that the consequences of straying from the narrow line of sober relationship with God is to slip off into an agonizing separation from Him.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Hosea 7:

God, speaking of Israel, laments here in words that feel strangely fitting for one who has lived in rebellion himself.

13 Woe to them,
because they have strayed from me!
Destruction to them,
because they have rebelled against me!
I long to redeem them
but they speak lies against me.
14 They do not cry out to me from their hearts
but wail upon their beds.
They gather together[a] for grain and new wine
but turn away from me.
15 I trained them and strengthened them,
but they plot evil against me.
16 They do not turn to the Most High…”

As we gather together with people who, this season, congregate around grain and new wine, may our hearts be devoted to the One who provides all and who makes a Way for us.  May we be truly thankful for and content with His grace and providence, and not speed ahead to amass for ourselves and our kin all the luxury of our desires and the debt that accompanies it.  May we turn to the Most High and away from the indulgences of the season!

 

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The Salesman”:

“I’ve been sober several years, kept that way by submitting my natural will to the Higher Power and that is all there is to it. That submission wasn’t just a single act, however. It became a daily duty; it had to be that. Daily I am renewed in strength and I have never come to the point where I have wanted to say, ‘Thanks, God, I think I can paddle my own canoe now,’ for which I am thankful.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

