Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“In OA we have no program of diets and exercise, no scales, no magic pills. What we do have to offer is far greater than any of these things—a Fellowship in which we find and share the healing power of love.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. ix

Isn’t it amazing how easy it is to forget this primary purpose?  I sometimes find myself slipping into dietary advice or exercise recommendations, and I lose sight of the love and spiritual healing that was the environment for my recovery when I first came into the rooms.  It is also unfortunate that we habitual self-servers get annoyed when we belly up to a meeting ready to have our fill of love and understanding, but when we find the trough’s contents unsatisfactory we go away disappointed rather than capitalize the opportunity to share some with others in the fellowship.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 20 (NKJV):

It is honorable for a man to stop striving,
Since any fool can start a quarrel.”

Once upon a time I prayed for “lack of strife.”  I remember it well, and have written about it before.  This verse points out that striving is really the product of the one who hasn’t surrendered, who contends with people and circumstances around him.  Lack of strife will come to me when I do the honorable thing and stop striving.  I used to take pride in my ability to argue; the second half of this verse takes away that bragging right!

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Hosea 5 and 6:

God, speaking of the adulterous nature of His children, spoke to Hosea in such a way that reminded me of so many times my imagination elevated my sin past God’s ability to forgive or, worse yet, refused to submit to God because I was more interested in indulging in my sin than in giving it to Him.

5:“Their deeds do not permit them
to return to their God.
A spirit of prostitution is in their heart;
they do not acknowledge the Lord.”

In Chapter 6, there is a reference of the third day salvation of the Lord, to the cutting power of the Sword of the Spirit – the Word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord, and a promise that the One who has smitten us with guilt promises to heal us with His loving-kindness.

6:Therefore I cut you in pieces with my prophets,
I killed you with the words of my mouth;
my judgments flashed like lightning upon you.
For I desire mercy, not sacrifice,
and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.
Like Adam,[a] they have broken the covenant—
they were unfaithful to me there.”

From the beginning of time, mankind has rebelled against our Creator.  I know that when I offer myself to God, He is faithful to surgically cut out my defects and heal me into a productive instrument of His grace.  The Word of the Lord is sharper than any double-edged sword, dividing even soul and spirit.  (References: Hebrews 4:12, Revelation 1:16, 2:12)

 

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 72:

“We have admitted certain defects; we have ascertained in a rough way what the trouble is; we have put our finger on the weak times in our personal inventory. Now these are about to be cast out.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

