I am a compulsive overeater, and I’m grateful to God for my abstinence, this one day at a time!
I have to submit today’s blog post remotely, so I apologize for some of the missing bells and whistles.

Today’s entry in Voices of Recovery spoke of humility.

“Humility is harmony with God and acceptance of who I am at this moment.”

When I meditate on harmony and alignment with God, self, and man, I imagine a triangle. I am on its base with the other human beings, no higher or lower than any others. But I also consist of a vertical relationship with God who exists as a lone point elevated above all creation. Without that vertical relationship, I would not be equipped to maintain any of the horizontal ones. Similarly, if I had no human interaction, my life on earth would be quite pointless, the reason for my temporary separation from God would be nullified, and His empowerment of and provision for my life would be rendered entirely self-serving. To be complete, just like a triangle, I need to properly align myself under God and alongside my fellow man.

Proverbs 17:5 (NKJV) says,

“He who mocks the poor reproaches his Maker; He who is glad at calamity will not go unpunished.”

God clearly does not appreciate any instance of man’s looking down upon another human, even when it is one who has incurred divine correction. To mock one as less than we is to disrespect his/her Creator. If I am going to adopt God’s value for me as motivation to treat myself properly, I have to adopt the same value for each and every other human. For me to pick and choose would be to resume playing God.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Daniel 10, 11, and 12:
I read some very cool prophecies about the end times and, while it is amusing to guess what all the nameless kings and political regions described could mean and about what era the angel was talking, there were some concrete facts I took from the reading.
First was the angel’s description of his trouble in the heavenly realms. He spoke of being detained by the resistance of a prince of the Persian kingdom and of Greece, and assisted by Michael, one of the chief princes (10:13). This Michael was later described as the guardian of Israel (10:21, 12:1). This reminded me of Ephesians 6:12, which tells of these principalities, powers, and spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
Another takeaway is that Daniel’s integrity and devotion earned him the honor of being addressed by the angel as one “highly esteemed” (10:11). I could not help but crave the esteem of God. What an honor it would be to be despised by men and honored by angels!
There are a lot of mysterious predictions, especially in Chapter 11, where there is the noteworthy reference to “the abomination that causes desolation” (11:31). Many have ventured guesses as what that might be, but with war between Israel and what was once Babylon raging today, it would be wise to watch the news closely.
In Chapter 12, Michael’s rise was promised; from what, it doesn’t say. But then a time of distress will come, and the promise for us is very clear.

“But at that time your people – everyone whose name is found written in the book – will be delivered. 2 Multitudes who sleep in the dust of the earth will awake: some to everlasting life, others to shame and everlasting contempt. 3 Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever.”

Holy Papa, I know that You have written my name in the Lamb’s Book of Life, and I thank You for paying for my atonement. I pray for those I might help, that they might see past my impurities and defects, and be drawn to Your redeeming love. Continue to purify me, that it may be said of me, “Well done faithful servant!” Even if it costs me the honor of mankind, may I be esteemed by You!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anomymous, page 76:

“We attempt to sweep away the debris which has accumulated out of our effort to live on self-will and run the show ourselves. If we haven’t the will to do this, we ask until it comes.”

