Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I hate days that begin with a new insight about pride and end with me wrapped up in mine.  Yesterday is over; today is new; I’ll live today free of yesterday or tomorrow and trust God.

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We discover that we can learn from and work in harmony with people whose personalities we dislike, as long as we focus on OA principles.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 203

I’m finding that treating people according to the principles of honesty, hope, faith, courage, integrity, willingness, humility, self-discipline, love, perseverance, spiritual awareness, and service when what I feel like is punching them in the face is a lot like having a salad with wine vinegar when what I want is a chocolate-dipped batter-fried Twinkie.  When we learned to act according to what we know rather than what we feel or want, we exercised a new muscle.  At first it hurt, but as it developed it became the most powerful, life-giving part of us.  Now, it hurts when we neglect it.  Love atrophies quickly when not in use.  Maybe that is one reason we are supposed to go to meetings – for the exercise!

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 14 (NKJV):

14 The backslider in heart will be filled with his own ways,
But a good man will be satisfied from above.[Literally from above himself]

29 He who is slow to wrath has great understanding,
But he who is impulsive[Literally short of spirit] exalts folly.”

I couldn’t decide between these two, so I didn’t.  After I included both, I realized how closely related they are.  I was especially struck by the notation in verse 29 after the word “impulsive” which, in the NIV is translated “quick-tempered.”  This condition of impulsiveness, of being quick to respond according to the natural drive and desire, is quite accurately a state of being short of spirit.  The idea of spiritual shortness brings to mind the inadequacy that makes a small creature anxious around larger ones.  Dogs in a pack or boys in a schoolyard, the little one will act out just to keep from being abused.  Short is also a lack of supply, like a shortage of provisions.  When I am acting according to my impulse, I am displaying my lack of spirit.  Verse 14 reminds me that the one who walks in righteousness will receive his sustenance from above himself, not anywhere in, on, or around self, but from above.  It is the Spirit that comes from above Who supplies the spiritual health I need to keep from the foolishness of impulsive living.  Only He can fill me with His Way and satisfy.

Lord, forbid that I should slide away from what I know of You and Your love for me.  Keep me from forgetting, from trying to fill myself with my own way, and from acting like I am in charge.

 

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Daniel 7:

Daniel and John were both given revelations of the end times.  So mysterious and troubling they are, that any eschatology requires the combination of the two, along with the coaching of the Rabbi Himself, Jesus Christ, who explained the main points to His disciples.  The highlight of His teaching was that, whatever happened, He would be with His disciples.

“And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)

The mystery of these writings has led to divisions among Christ’s followers as to what they mean, and rather than add to that dissension, I prefer to sit in wonder and awe, convinced that earth’s end will be as troubling as childbirth and as glorious as a new child, only on a global scale.  Any fear I have of the Day of the Lord is not for myself, except as reminder to keep true to God’s Word, but for those I know are outside God’s grace by their own rebellion.  As for those washed in the blood of the Lamb, I know the messenger speaking to Daniel spoke of our inheritance.

18 But the saints of the Most High will receive the kingdom and will possess it forever—yes, for ever and ever.”

I also know that Daniel did not write down everything he saw.  There are mysteries intentionally kept, as is the right and privilege of God.  (See Proverbs 25:2.)  Daniel mentioned this in his closing, and this is one of the reasons why I do not feel compelled to figure it all out.  Some things are not for me to know.

28 This is the end of the matter. I, Daniel, was deeply troubled by my thoughts, and my face turned pale, but I kept the matter to myself.”

Creator of the universe, thank You for the knowledge that, whatever comes, You are in control and I am not.  I submit to Your will for me and for the universe.  Where You go I will follow, where You stay I will stay, where You send I will venture trusting Your hand for my providence.  God be glorified in my living and in my eventual graduation to union with You!

 

24b But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? 25 But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness.”  (Romans 8:24b-26a)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 12 and 13:

“For a brief moment, I had needed and wanted God. There had been a humble willingness to have Him with me – and He came. But soon the sense of His presence had been blotted out by worldly clamors, mostly those within myself. And so it had been ever since.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

