Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

There has been a deviation from normal, brought about by a very minor injury.  I cut my index finger trying to help someone yesterday.  The cut was bad enough to require several stitches, which need to be kept clean and dry, along with the massive bandage that came with them.  The doctor says no gym, no weights, no dish-washing, and no doing my outdoor job.  I will be assigned to an office on adjusted hours, and I will have to learn to accept help with things I normally do myself.   I just asked my precious bride to wash my breakfast bowl so I could use it for lunch.  I don’t like asking for help.  Perhaps I am being stretched.

I accept what happens to me as God’s mysterious orchestration of circumstances, and I trust that, even with a mummy-finger, I will be given God’s will for me and the power to carry that out.  It will be interesting to see if I get to know what trouble I was spared in being removed from my normal circumstances, or what opportunity God will place me in that I otherwise would not have had.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…in wanting to avoid rejection, I isolated myself, which put me in the same solitary, lonely position that rejection from other people would cause.”

What an irony it is that our diseased response to fear of being left alone would leave us so utterly, desperately alone!  That is the very nature of fear.  It realizes that which is not real and calls into existence those things that keep us from fully and freely living our lives.

The Bible says, “Perfect love casts out fear.” (1 John 4:18)  I choose to live in love, rather than fear!

God, please make me loving and not fearful.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 9 (NKJV):

Forsake foolishness and live,
And go in the way of understanding.”

Neglect, leave, abandon, turn from, refrain, repent, abstain – all these words live in the meaning of “forsake” as I understand it.  Life waits in the balance, and understanding on the path of exodus.  I joyously show folly my back in preference for the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  (John 14:6)

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Daniel 2:

God revealed to King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon a mystery that troubled him so that he decreed death to all his wise men because they could not tell him what he dreamed and what it meant.  Daniel, one of the condemned wise men, an exiled slave from Judah, responded in a way that was unnatural.  First of all, he calmly addressed his executioner (verse 14).  Next, he reached out to his friends (verse 17) and called for prayer (verse 18).  That night, Daniel was given a vision of what the king had seen and its meaning.  The next morning, he presented himself to the executioner and pled for the lives of all the rest of those who had not yet been killed, promising to deliver to the king the revelation he had demanded.  In the process, Daniel was careful not to credit himself for the knowledge and wisdom given, but gave all the glory to the God of Heaven, the Revealer of mysteries.

Daniel described the empires of Earth, and the statue of various elements the king had seen.  Then described a rock that would shatter the statue and grow into an enormous mountain.  The meaning was as follows:

44 In the time of those kings, the God of heaven will set up a kingdom that will never be destroyed, nor will it be left to another people. It will crush all those kingdoms and bring them to an end, but it will itself endure forever.”

Thank You, Revealer of mysteries, for orchestrating circumstances of history that allowed for my inclusion in Your realm, for sponsoring my citizenship in Heaven, and for tutoring me as an apprentice, a disciple of Your Way!  I am grateful for the promise that Your Kingdom will endure even when all iron and earth is shaken and all other kingdoms pass away.  I cherish the relationship that draws me out of gold, silver, bronze, iron and clay to the Kingdom of the Rock.  God be glorified!

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 84:

“We vigorously commenced this way of living as we cleaned up the past. We have entered the world of the Spirit. Our next function is to grow in understanding and effectiveness. This is not an overnight matter. It should continue for our lifetime. Continue to watch for selfishness, dishonesty, resentment, and fear. When these crop up, we ask God at once to remove them.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

