Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am grateful that, after today, advertisements will go back to trying to make me overweight and self-indulgent instead of just politically enraged, and the phone will ring because real humans are on the other end of the line for a change. I am also grateful that I am powerless over any more of the outcomes of Election Day than my own ballot (which I cast this morning). I am a participant, not the whole. God is still in charge, and “there is no authority except that which God has established.” (Romans 13:1b, NIV)

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The greatest gift I can give other compulsive eaters is the same gift they have given me: proving by example that spiritual, emotional, and physical healing are truly attainable.”

When I was half way to what I thought my “goal weight” was back when I still thought I was in charge, I took a picture of myself and pasted it next to my “before” picture to help me (and others) see my progress.  I replaced that “after” picture several times before it dawned on me that I am my own “after” picture.  I am the canvass on which God is restoring His handiwork.  The life I live, the attitude I carry, the Spirit I reflect, and the recovery I represent are the evidence the hopeless need, not some photograph of what I think they want to see.

This means two things: I have a responsibility to maintain my spiritual fitness, and I have a responsibility to show up where the hurting are and extend the lifesaving hand of fellowship and acceptance, just like someone did for me!

 

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 6 (NKJV):

25 Do not lust after her beauty in your heart,
Nor let her allure you with her eyelids.”

Indulgence is indulgence, whether sexual or dietary or otherwise.  What hit me in this verse is a duty to resist.  It seems to say, “Don’t dreamily want, don’t allow temptation to pull at you,” as if the writer knows it will try.  There is programming in us that makes us want, wish and will for the things that poison our lives.  The warning here is to resist, to avoid, to abstain!

 

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Ezekiel 43 , 44, and 45:

Ezekiel, still on his spiritual tour of the new Temple, was allowed to witness the glory of the Lord as He returned to His footstool.

43:and I saw the glory of the God of Israel coming from the east. His voice was like the roar of rushing waters, and the land was radiant with his glory.”

What followed was regulations for the new altar, the priests and ministers of the Temple, their clothing and practices.  There were strict guidelines, not just to keep themselves holy, but to keep from consecrating the general public with material that had been in the presence of God.  (44:19)  That, to me, is the biggest difference between the then and the now – God has made His home among man in Spirit and Truth.  Ezekiel also received the descriptions of the allotment of land to be set aside as holy for the priests and prince, and regulations concerning the Passover.  I found it interesting that God still allowed for a prince, though no king but Him; and that the ceremonial cleansing of the Temple before the Passover required a lot of blood.

Praise be to the permanent Passover Lamb, whose sacrifice has done away with all but each disciple’s sacrifice of self in the name of Jesus Christ!

“For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.” (Hosea 6:6; also Matthew 9:13, Matthew 12:7, Hebrews 10:5, and Hebrews 10:8.)

“Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”  (Luke 9:23)

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 87:

“As we go through the day we pause, when agitated or doubtful, and ask for the right thought or action. We constantly remind ourselves we are no longer running the show, humbly saying to ourselves many times each day ‘Thy will be done.’”

 

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

