(Post from Saturday, 2012-11-03, delayed by technical difficulty)

Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am missing out on a few recovery events and meetings today that I, in my self-serving life, might feel deprived of and ashamed for missing.  But today is God’s and everything in it, so I will do what I must, then what I can.  God will bend schedules for His purposes.  Who am I do second-guess, redo or edit what He has orchestrated?

A lot of my day will be spent in harm’s way amid circus treats and ballpark meats, folly and frivolity, madness and mayhem, and I will need to remain sane and serene if I am to be effective at my work and undistracted.  I have asked that God go especially slowly with me today, holding my hand and not letting me skip along with those flirting with their own disaster.  Somehow, I knew He was already planning on it.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The phrase is ‘powerless over food,’ not ‘powerless over footwork.’”

There is a liar who will try to convince us that our powerlessness means we ought to give up and just let life happen in whatever way it wants.  But that liar is the one who wants me in my disease, crippled by the weight of my despair, buried from reaching out to the Redeeming Creator who loves and restores.

Quick!  Try to think of nothing.  It doesn’t work.  Our minds don’t empty, our lives don’t run in neutral, and our spirits cannot be “just a little bit” aflame.

There is a line from the movie The Shawshank Redemption that came to mind when I read today’s VOR entry, “Get busy living or get busy dying!”  There is apparently no medium, no lukewarm, no on-the-fence in the human life.  We can moderate our over-extremes but, generally speaking, human beings are most vulnerable when they are undecided, neither hot nor cold but apathetic.  Aaron Tippin, in his popular Country song by the same title, puts it, “You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.”  God revealed His opinion on apathy when He said in Revelation 3:15-16, “15 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”

Looking back on my life in the disease, I admit I was actively pursuing my demise in most of my decisions.  When feeling good trumps living well, the outcomes are debilitating spiritually, emotionally and physically.  Admitting powerlessness over what I cannot change frees me to transmit God’s power to the things He enables me to according to His will.  Our choice is not to let life alone or let it run over us; it is to actively move toward abundant life or actively move toward our own deaths (physical and spiritual).

“This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life…” (Deuteronomy 30:19)

 

 

From Proverbs 3 (NKJV):

Do not be wise in your own eyes;
Fear the Lord and depart from evil.
It will be health to your flesh,[b]
And strength[c] to your bones.”

The “it” in the second verse refers to the humble, reverent abstinence in the previous, and look what is promised: physical health and strengthening nourishment.  The Bible has been demonstrating the trinity of man, Recovery’s “three-legged stool” of our physical, mental, and spiritual aspects all along.   It is amazing how blinding self-will is, and how numb one is to recognize it until after the blinders have been removed.

I am not going to be able to complete my normal readings today.  Suffice it to say that I am getting busy working according to God’s will for me today, and sacrifice mine to His grace.  I’ve got to get busy living.

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

