Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Happy November!  The year certainly seems to be moving quickly.  Since it is the first of the month, I reviewed my action plan, the tool of recovery used to plan the implementation of the other tools.  It can be viewed at tljax.wordpress.com/my-plan.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out.” — Step Eleven

This step’s meaning has been both profound and varied for me.  I like the challenge of mystery, and seeking to improve contact with One who can never be fully understood is the greatest mystery of all.  Perhaps the biggest change this step has wrought in me is the attitude of my prayers.  When I pray for knowledge of God’s will for me, what I am not praying for is to get my own way.  When I beg for God’s power to carry out His will, I am ceasing to exert my own feeble power against the immovable objects and unstoppable forces in my life.  I let Him be, do and move.  The Great “I Am” still is, and I will stand behind Him, not in front.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 1 (NKJV):

I have enjoyed looking at Proverbs through the New Living Translation (NLT), and thought I would repeat the exercise with the New King James Version this month.

The prologue of Proverbs, verses 1 through 7 of this chapter, complements well Step Eleven, the search for improved conscious contact with God.  The action words and their objects are congruent with the mission of this step: to know, perceive, receive, hear, attain, and understand wisdom, instruction, understanding, justice, judgment, equity, knowledge, discretion, learning, prudence.  My recovery from foolish self-service requires that I seek something new.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,
But fools despise wisdom and instruction.”

The Proverbs, in any version, translate God’s wisdom for His kings to me, His prince.  The very call of Wisdom provides promise that I cannot afford to miss:

33 But whoever listens to me will dwell safely,
And will be secure, without fear of evil.”

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Ezekiel 35 and 36:

The prophecy against Edom, the enemy of Israel, in Chapter 35 sounds horrible, but it is consistent with the judgment practices God promises, that with the measure we use toward others He will measure to us. (Matthew 7:2, Mark 4:24, Luke 6:38)

11 therefore as surely as I live, declares the Sovereign Lord, I will treat you in accordance with the anger and jealousy you showed in your hatred of them and I will make myself known among them when I judge you.”

To the mountains, hills, ravines, and valleys of Israel, all the clay and earth of the physical terrain of Israel, God pronounced, in Chapter 36, His restoration in terms that made me consider the physical recovery of my own jar of clay, the body in which I now reside for the brief duration of my stay on Earth.

But you, O mountains of Israel, will produce branches and fruit for my people Israel, for they will soon come home. I am concerned for you and will look on you with favor; you will be plowed and sown…”

To the people of Israel, the souls of His inheritance, God demonstrated His gracious loyalty to His promises, even to His unfaithful children.  What He promises is a recovery of His possession, a renewal of His creation.  For His name’s sake, He will reestablish the original order and cultivate the repentant to produce glory for Himself.

24 ‘For I will take you out of the nations; I will gather you from all the countries and bring you back into your own land. 25 I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. 26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. 28 You will live in the land I gave your forefathers; you will be my people, and I will be your God. 29 I will save you from all your uncleanness. I will call for the grain and make it plentiful and will not bring famine upon you. 30 I will increase the fruit of the trees and the crops of the field, so that you will no longer suffer disgrace among the nations because of famine. 31 Then you will remember your evil ways and wicked deeds, and you will loathe yourselves for your sins and detestable practices. 32 I want you to know that I am not doing this for your sake, declares the Sovereign Lord. Be ashamed and disgraced for your conduct, O house of Israel!”

I am not the first to suffer from want, wish, and will.  God has been looking to restore such since before Ezekiel’s time.  He has been promising a spiritual recovery that renews and restores all order and productivity, and makes life plentiful.

Improved contact with the God of my understanding reveals that He has been waiting for me to want that for all the ages!  Thank You, God, for making me homesick for You and for being there to greet me with a warm welcome home.  Please, continue Your restoration process in me, and cultivate me into a productive life, bearing seed and fruit and multiplying Your love to mankind, and Your mankind to Your glory.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 7071:

“In this book you read again and again that faith did for us what we could not do for ourselves. We hope you are convinced now that God can remove whatever self-will has blocked you off from Him.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to the New King James Version (NKJV) just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  

