Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

My precious bride and I are home safely after traveling thirty-five hours to see my son for three.  It doesn’t seem practical, but the brief reunion was well worth the expense of time and money, and we were able to deliver his winter clothes and guitars, for which he was in desperate want.  Apparently, we showed up just in time too, because he had run out of laundry money and, like any college-age young man, had begun rationing his “really clean” clothes against his “practically clean” clothes, and had just been socking away his “exceptionally dirty” clothes for such time as he came upon more quarters.  Planning ahead, I produced three rolls of quarters for just such expenses and took him to the local discount store for various other supplies the likes of which boys with no budget are likely to go without.  …like soap.

My precious bride and I lived kind of rough for these three days, partly to keep the expenses down and partly to satisfy wifey’s desire to go camping.  We ate mostly canned goods and such which we had taken with us, and made ourselves at home at any highway rest stop that suited us.  That would have been more tolerable had our climate-control fan not pooped out on the first day.  With weather as nice as it has been, we could have lived without air-conditioning, but on those cold nights and early mornings we missed having a heater.  It was quite an adventure, and it made me very grateful for my nice, warm bed!

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I have learned that once I become conscious of fear’s presence, I can choose to dispel it by breathing out faith. Faith is the antidote to fear.”

Fear paralyzes.  Faith motivates.  We who have been cocooned in fear have immobilized ourselves from meeting people, reaching for goals, loving others, living life.  Fear is the poison that made me satisfied to live in a sarcophagus of fat and kept me from doing anything to get out of it.  Fear says, “I might fail,” while faith says, “I might succeed!”

 

From Proverbs 29 (NLT):

25 Fearing people is a dangerous trap,
but trusting the Lord means safety.”

This follows well the contrast between fear and faith, and calls to mind other passages that insist that revering man over God is pointless and futile.  The Creator has my best interest in mind, while other men and women fret about their own fears and frustrations.  There is no reason the thoughts in the minds of other people should direct me even one step, except that I might help another to find his own courage to step from despair into the Light of Life.

17 Discipline your children, and they will give you peace of mind
and will make your heart glad.”

I had to include this one after the weekend I had.  It is clearly evident that Junior is following the Real Father, and my part was little but an introduction.  It was great to see how excited he was about relationship with Christ!

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Ezekiel 32:

18 “Son of man, wail for the hordes of Egypt and consign to the earth below both her and the daughters of mighty nations, with those who go down to the pit.”

They who are dying are worth our attention!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 14:

“Faith without works was dead, he said. And how appallingly true for the alcoholic! For if an alcoholic failed to perfect and enlarge his spiritual life through work and self-sacrifice for others, he could not survive the certain trials and low spots ahead. If he did not work, he would surely drink again, and if he drank, he would surely die. Then faith would be dead indeed. With us it is just like that.”

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

