Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“For many of us, fear, worry, and anxiety played a key role in our lives, robbing us of joy and keeping us from fulfilling our dreams.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 37

I’m conquering fear and a whole lot of other obstacles today, by setting out on a road trip to see my son and take him his winter clothes.  I could ship them, but you can’t ship a hug, so I’m going myself.  I will be out of touch the next few days.

 

From Proverbs 26 (NLT):

12 There is more hope for fools
than for people who think they are wise.”

From my reading through the Bible,” currently in Ezekiel 31:

In this chapter, God, through Ezekiel, compares Egypt to a tall and stately Cedar tree of Lebanon, that grew so tall and majestic, all it could see was its superiority over all other trees.  Because of its pride, God humiliated it, bringing it down for the birds and beasts alike to hide in the branches of its fallen form.

18 ‘Which of the trees of Eden can be compared with you in splendor and majesty? Yet you, too, will be brought down with the trees of Eden to the earth below; you will lie among the uncircumcised, with those killed by the sword.

‘This is Pharaoh and all his hordes, declares the Sovereign Lord.’”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 68:

“We ask Him to remove our fear and direct our attention to what He would have us be. At once, we commence to outgrow fear.”

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

