Artwork by Cara Colleen

Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I have a very limited time to read and write today, so I will be brief.  I was convicted after yesterday’s devotion, as I was readying for work, by the following verse, which I have posted on my wall where I get dressed every day.  Apparently, I have been ignoring it, but am recommitted to living it again now.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindnesshumilitygentleness and patience.” Colossians 3:12 (emphasis mine)

In a twist of irony only God could orchestrate, the heading of one of the devotions to which I subscribe, Mark Merrill’s Family Minute, today read, “What attitude are you wearing?”  I guess I’ll don the uniform of caring again today.

Father, help me cover my naked fears and insecurities with the royal clothing of Your grace, and  let me represent well Your compassionate forgiveness that clothing represents.

 

 

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…we focused on others’ faults and thought for hours about what they should do to solve their problems, while our own problems went unsolved.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 12

I like the way the contributor worded the problem as sharing “the mess instead of the message.”  It is in my nature to point out the faults in anyone but myself.  Self-sacrificing service doesn’t just turn the hate gun around; it holsters it, starts bandaging our own wounds, and gets to work loving others.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 23 (NLT):

31 Don’t gaze at the wine, seeing how red it is,
how it sparkles in the cup, how smoothly it goes down.
32 For in the end it bites like a poisonous snake;
it stings like a viper.”

I am reminded not to romance the toxin.  If I am to be transformed by the renewing of my mind (Romans 12:2) then I have to get the old things out of there.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ezekiel 25:

This chapter has the pronouncement of punishment of four nations of Judah’s enemies.  Because they either took revenge or rejoiced in the fall of God’s people, they were sentenced to wrath.  In every instance, God’s motive was that He would be known as the Lord, the only One from whom vengeance comes.  (Verses 7, 11, 14, and 17)

God, forgive me for rejoicing over the calamity of my enemies.  Help me to love universally, serve sacrificially, and give unreservedly.  Let me show Your love by overflowing it to others, so that perhaps fewer might have to learn of Your greatness the hard way.

 

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 14:

“Simple, but not easy; a price had to be paid. It meant destruction of self-centeredness. I must turn in all things to the Father of Light who presides over us all.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

