Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I forgot to mention a line I heard in “Our Daily Bread” from October 11th:  “Prayer is the bridge between panic and peace.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“The only way to do meditation wrong is not to do it at all.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 96

I think I’ll cogitate on that, or perhaps ruminate.  There really is no wrong way.   I like the still quiet times, and I like the worshipful movement, but taking a moment to breathe deeply of God’s provision for me can be done anywhere, anytime, and in my case better be done often.

 

 

 

 

From Proverbs 14 (NLT):

15 Only simpletons believe everything they’re told!
The prudent carefully consider their steps.”

There is a lot that passes for “wisdom” in the rooms of recovery.  Learning to keep my mouth shut and avoid crosstalk has been good for me, but I have to be careful that I don’t leave the gates of discernment wide open to allow anything and everything into my conscious beliefs.  Wisdom requires that I cross-examine everything in the light of Scripture, the only real reference for Truth.  The Word of God is the Bread of Life, and my spirit will eat none other.  Amen, God, let it be so!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ezekiel 15:

In this short chapter, God references a fire that destroys, as opposed to the fire that refines.  Elsewhere, God uses trials as fire to test and prove the mettle of His children.  Here He compares the rebellious to the wood of a vine, which is useless for anything but kindling, and has even that value removed by the fires of destruction.

If it was not useful for anything when it was whole, how much less can it be made into something useful when the fire has burned it and it is charred?”

God, help me to stay out of the way of those seeking You, and to be a minister of Your grace to those I might help find Your Way.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 164:

“Near you, alcoholics are dying helplessly like people in a sinking ship.”

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

