Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Part of this morning’s entry of Food for Thought read, “Each day is a new creation, and each day brings new lessons and opportunities.”  I have thought of creation as the world and its occupants, but as Elisabeth L. wrote, each day is not just a setting for the created, it is part of creation.  The Keeper of the cosmos and Tamer of the tides is marking out proving grounds and orchestrating opportunities for each of us to exercise and build our faith, one revolution of the earth at a time.  Every moment is a gift from the Maker!  I choose to live today in gratitude.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“With the compulsive overeater, not only do you get back to a normal weight, but, more important, your life is changed and in a sense you’re ahead of where you were before you became a compulsive overeater.” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, p. 230

At my first meeting I remember some of those thirteen ladies talking about being grateful for this disease because, without it, they would never have found the spiritual solution which made living life on their side of recovery so much better than life before their loss of control.  I thought I smelled a salesman.  Surely they were laying it on thick just to hook me!  There was something genuine in their faces though, the kind of sincerity you don’t find in the face of a wheeler-dealer.  Looking back, I, along with those women I doubted and with today’s VOR contributor, can say, “Now I know that sentence is true—I stand witness to its truth.”  My worst abstinent day is better than my best compulsive day!  Connection to my Higher Power makes whatever comes a mission field of opportunities.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 12 (NLT):

Wickedness never brings stability,
but the godly have deep roots.”

12 Thieves are jealous of each other’s loot,
but the godly are well rooted and bear their own fruit.”

I’ve been doing a lot of weed-pulling lately, and one thing I have learned to respect is that if you don’t get the root, you haven’t killed the plant.  These verses describe the “root” of the godly, as though their connection to their source of life provides, not just life, but stability and provision, a security that can be trusted.  I know that, as long as I remain rooted in God, I will continue to thrive regardless of what bits get plucked or cut off me.

15 Fools think their own way is right,
but the wise listen to others.”

I couldn’t pass this one up.  Look, I’m in the Bible!  Okay, I’ll share the credit with the rest of the self-will addicts who thought their own way was right.  By the way, going to recovery meetings and avoiding cross-talk is excellent exercise for those of us unfamiliar with listening to others.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ezekiel 12 and 13:

Chapter 12 has Ezekiel acting out an oracle of the exile of a remaining group in Jerusalem.  Chapter 13 addresses the vain priests and lying prophets among God’s people.

“13:10 ‘Because they lead my people astray, saying, ‘Peace,’ when there is no peace, and because, when a flimsy wall is built, they cover it with whitewash, 11 therefore tell those who cover it with whitewash that it is going to fall. Rain will come in torrents, and I will send hailstones hurtling down, and violent winds will burst forth. 12 When the wall collapses, will people not ask you, ‘Where is the whitewash you covered it with?’”

22 Because you disheartened the righteous with your lies, when I had brought them no grief, and because you encouraged the wicked not to turn from their evil ways and so save their lives, 23 therefore you will no longer see false visions or practice divination. I will save my people from your hands. And then you will know that I am the Lord.’”

A couple things strike me in these two excerpts.  First, I recently read a New Testament reference to whitewash as a futile covering over a stone structure of a tomb rather than a wall.  This older reference to a whitewashed wall hints at a regression from Ezekiel’s time to the time of Christ, who was condemning hypocrisy in Matthew 23:27:

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of dead men’s bones and everything unclean.”

Second, I was struck with the passion with which God was guarding His misled children.  He has no tolerance for liars who would cause them to wander into suffering, and His promise is to rip from the hands of the thieves any hint that He is with them, to make it perfectly clear that the Lord is God and they are not.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 62:

“First of all, we had to quit playing God. It didn’t work. Next, we decided that hereafter in this drama of life, God was going to be our Director. He is the Principal; we are His agents. He is the Father, and we are His children.”

 

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

