Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Apparently, when you write and pray about being content, like I did yesterday, the devil spends the rest of the day hounding you.  I had one of those days that convinced me that if I were to buy a lottery ticket, it would have done nothing but give me a paper cut!  I got a decent amount of work done around the house, but I finished the day neither helpful nor harmless.

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.’” (Lamentations 3:22-24)

Thank God for this new “one day at a time”!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“How does a full-grown human learn to express exuberance? Perhaps it is not possible to retrieve what was once lost, but this program of recovery comes close. The more I practice being “as a child,” especially when I take Steps Three and Eleven, the more my spirit is seized with an untamed joy demanding expression.” — For Today, p. 356

I’m not sure what to say about that, but my spirit recalls the following:

He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: ‘I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.’”  (Matthew 18:2-4)

 

 

 

From Proverbs 9 (NLT):

(Wisdom calls out)

‘Come in with me,’ she urges the simple.
To those who lack good judgment, she says,
‘Come, eat my food,
and drink the wine I have mixed.
Leave your simple ways behind, and begin to live;
learn to use good judgment.’”

May I answer that call with willingness all the days of my life!

11 Wisdom will multiply your days
and add years to your life.
12 If you become wise, you will be the one to benefit.
If you scorn wisdom, you will be the one to suffer.”

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Ezekiel 5 and 6:

Ezekiel was told to shave his head and beard with a sword and to divide up the hair in thirds, which would symbolize the destruction of the Jews.  He was to reserve a few strands of hair in his waistband, but even some of those would be lost to the flames of God’s wrath.

“6:Then in the nations where they have been carried captive, those who escape will remember me—how I have been grieved by their adulterous hearts, which have turned away from me, and by their eyes, which have lusted after their idols. They will loathe themselves for the evil they have done and for all their detestable practices. 10 And they will know that I am the Lord; I did not threaten in vain to bring this calamity on them.”

Two takeaways from that: first, even self-loathing, when it highlights error, can be used for God’s purposes; and second, God does not threaten destruction in vain.  When I put those two together, I could decide that the time to mourn over my mistakes is not tomorrow, but now.  I need to turn loose of what separates me from God and turn to Him quickly while there is still some today left.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 20:

“As we felt new power flow in, as we enjoyed peace of mind, as we discovered we could face life successfully, as we became conscious of His presence, we began to lose our fear of today, tomorrow or the hereafter. We were reborn.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

