Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We now have a new reaction when we face a problem or a decision, whether it has to do with food, with life, or with our own runaway emotions. Instead of acting on impulse, we pause long enough to learn God’s will.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 26

God taught me, by way of Steps Four through Nine, that acting on impulse, I am habitually harmful to myself and others.  Shame, which once led me into self-degradation and despair, now works for my good to build a pause between me and actions that would cause harm.  During that pause, I can remember my commitment to be attentive for and responsive to God’s will, and employ my new way of living: of acting on life rather than reacting to it.  I can do this only so long as I remain in fit spiritual condition.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 5 (NLT):

22 An evil man is held captive by his own sins;
they are ropes that catch and hold him.
23 He will die for lack of self-control;
he will be lost because of his great foolishness.”

In any verbiage, these verses remind me of the condition from which I have been liberated.  Praise God!

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Lamentations 5:

15 Joy is gone from our hearts;

Our dancing has turned to mourning.

16 The crown has fallen from our head.

Woe to us, for we have sinned!”

This lamentation of Jeremiah follows nicely the reflection on the previous statement about being held captive by one’s own sins.  What hobbles our joy is not God, but our own rebellion.  Here Jeremiah confesses that very fact.  It reminds me that, when my dancing turns to mourning, it might be time to reevaluate my priorities.  Have I allowed selfish concerns to creep in?  Or have I kept God’s will the only priority?

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63:

“Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

