Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We had to replace our old ideas about God with a faith that worked.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 16

 

The contributor adds, “A faith that works means I have to put action into my beliefs.”  The Big Book mentions “agnostic temperament.”  I can relate to that phrase because, although I have believed in God the Father, Christ the Son, and the Holy Spirit from childhood, I have lived most of my life with a temperament that would indicate no proof of such belief.  Living as though there were no God is worse than not being sure one exists!  The vital spiritual experience came to me when I became willing to acknowledge, not just with my head, but with my life, that God is real and He is really in charge.

The haphazard, uncommitted, empty, so-called “Christian” who lives life to suit his own self-interest is the worst detriment to the Global Church of any I know.  He is so ashamed of himself and afraid that someone will see his error that he goes about pointing out the errors of others, and beating them about the head and soul with his perspective, often from an elevated position atop his soapbox where he believes no one can see the hate in his eyes.  I apologize for having been this man, and I eagerly strive for the opportunity to make it up to God, myself, and my fellow human beings, by living a life of grace.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 3 (NLT):

Seek his will in all you do,
and he will show you which path to take.”

The question comes up often, “How do I know what God’s will is?  How will I know it when I find it?”  The answer comes with this verse, and is explained by the Word of the Lord in Matthew 7:7-8, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

God, I ask for Your will, and I am watching, diligently seeking, please help me find it today, and remain faithful to it, hourly, daily, and forever more.

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Lamentations 3:

Even though this is a poem of wailing, it contains one of my favorite passages.  It is one that translates the pain of my past into passion for today.

19 I remember my affliction and my wandering,
the bitterness and the gall.
20 I well remember them,
and my soul is downcast within me.
21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.’”

There is one reason for the battery of discipline Jeremiah describes in this, another acrostic poem of mourning, and that is the waywardness of God’s children.  He never intended them to stray, but He demonstrated that He was unwilling to leave them, or me, or you astray.  He made attempts to hold back the wayward (verse 3), corral us toward His will (verse 5), blind our wrong-way progress (verse 6), walled us in so we could not get our own way and weighed us down with “chains” (verse 7), and even ignored our selfish cries (verse 8).

The Lord’s compassions are new every morning.  At the rising of the sun, as the new day dawns, let’s grab hold of the new opportunity to walk in His light, according to His will.  I am excited to take in a breath of God’s power and move today as He would have me!

40 Let us examine our ways and test them,
and let us return to the Lord.”

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, from “The European Drinker”:

“For when a man is truly trying to do God’s will, instead of his own, he is very conscious of being in the presence of God always, wherever he may be.”

 

 

 

Footnotes:

*Abstinence began for me on May 11th, 2010.

For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.

In order to get a fresh perspective, I switched from using the New International Version (NIV or “NIV1984”) to a version I have not used before, the New Living Translation (NLT), just for this month’s reading of Proverbs.  I normally avoid switching, because it confuses my attempts at memorization, but I thought it might shed light on the old truths from a different angle and exercise my willingness with a little change.

