Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Today, I no longer just wish for relief from life’s problems.  Thanks to my Higher Power and my program, I face life’s difficulties secure in the knowledge that I am carrying out God’s plan for my life.”

When I am diligently praying for God’s will in my life and the power to carry that out, as long as I do not  defy Him, I can trust that whatever happens is happening to and around me for His reasons.  Even when His corrections come to convict me of the fact that I am bouncing of the boundaries of His will, I am grateful that He loves and cares for me enough to build me into more of the likeness of His perfect image and design.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 2 (NLT):

He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest.

He is a shield to those who walk with integrity.”

How many times have you heard that there is no such thing as common sense?  Or that the treasures of the world have all been found?  Here is a promise of a trove I covet, and another of a reward of safety for those of single mind and purpose.

God help me do Your will alone, driven for one purpose, Yours!

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Lamentations 2:

“11 My eyes fail from weeping,

I am in torment within,

my heart is poured out on the ground,

because my people are destroyed.

because children and infants faint in the streets of the city.”

“22 As you summon to a feast day,

So you summoned against me terrors on every side.

In the day of the LORD’s anger

No one escaped or survived;

Those I cared for and reared,

My enemy has destroyed.”

It occurs to me that anyone who has any misconceptions about God being too good to punish people, or too benevolent to send anyone to death should learn better by the historical writings such as these.  Ecclesiastes 1:9 says, “What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.”  The lamentations of Jeremiah over the fall of Jerusalem will be nothing like the weeping and gnashing of teeth to come.

God make me faithful to the Gospel of Your Salvation, for Your glory and Your grace.

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 27:

“Exceptions to cases such as yours have been occurring since early times.  Here and there, once in a while, alcoholics have had what are called vital spiritual experiences.  To me these occurrences are phenomena.  They appear to be in the nature of huge emotional displacements and rearrangements.  Ideas, emotions, and attitudes which were once the guiding forces of the lives of these men are suddenly cast to one side, and a completely new set of conceptions and motives begin to dominate them.”

 

 

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

