Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

My day began with chauffeuring my wife to work so I could take the family car for repairs.  I did it sanely and without grumbling, even after I got the bill.  Yay, God, not me!  It’s got more work to be done, but we will put it off until next oil change, when it will get the full Monty, an automotive spa day.  While today’s repairs were being done, I took a brisk walk around several nearby shopping centers.  It whipped my legs and my lungs more than I was aware until I got to the gym, already whooped.  I almost gave out, but I hung in there and feel stronger for having done so.  Later, I will attack some gardening chores.  Oooh, my favorite!  (NOT!)  This may be the last time I use my ten year-old lawn mower.

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Freedom from my substance opens my mind and my heart to the changes that are necessary for me to become all that my Higher Power created me to be.”

Indulgence of the flesh corrupts that flesh, while maintenance of the spirit restores the vehicle of flesh to its intended state. (Galatians 6:8)  It is an enigma, but I know that if I remain focused on the One who is remaking me, He is faithful to complete the good work He started in me.  (Philippians 1:6, Hebrews 10:23)

 

 

 

From Proverbs 28:

14 Blessed is the man who always fears the Lord,
but he who hardens his heart falls into trouble.”

Stubborn pride or hardened heart is the extreme condition of my flesh in control.  It’s the “But-I” want, and the “But-I” deserve.  This “But-I” diseased thinking is what keeps me sick.  Humility, willingness, diligence, submission, loving service, perseverance – these are the things that demonstrate a good, soft, heart, loving God in reverent awe, a healthy fear.

This sounds a lot like the message of my speech last weekend on the Spiritual Principles of the Twelve Steps.  Ironically, it mirrors Paul’s lesson on the Fruit of the Spirit in Galatians 5 quite closely.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 49:

There was more of the foretelling of doom in today’s reading.  Ammon, Edom, Damascus, Kedar, Hazor, and Elam, all were promised overwhelming destruction followed by a restoration.  Right in the middle of the chapter, I found a reference to a need for someone like God.  It was posed as a riddle as if it were a dilemma, but I know Him who is the answer, the Lion of Judah, the Good Shepherd, The Faithful and True, Jesus Christ the Redeemer!

19 “Like a lion coming up from Jordan’s thickets
to a rich pastureland,
I will chase Edom from its land in an instant.
Who is the chosen one I will appoint for this?
Who is like me and who can challenge me?
And what shepherd can stand against me?”

It seems like a contradiction when one only looks at the physical layer of the text, but there is a spiritual component that causes it to make sense.  Consider this pronouncement concerning Elam.  Total annihilation, so what is left to restore?  Clearly, the answer lies within the spiritual.

“‘37bI will pursue them with the sword
until I have made an end of them…

39 ‘Yet I will restore the fortunes of Elam
in days to come,’
declares the Lord.”

It seems strange, but it is further testimony to the cause for perseverance in rightly aligning my spirit with the One who overcomes.  The winner is already declared.  Choosing sides should be easy  when one sees this as reality.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 130:

“We have come to believe He would like us to keep our heads in the clouds with Him, but that our feet ought to be firmly planted on earth. That is where our fellow travelers are, and that is where our work must be done. These are the realities for us. We have found nothing incompatible between a powerful spiritual experience and a life of sane and happy usefulness.”

 

 

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

