Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

“Apparently, stress burns calories!” was what I said after checking on my weight yesterday and finding it five pounds down from last time I checked.  I’m not going to sweat it though, because I know it will fluctuate and what goes down will come back up.  Still, I will try to stay on the positive side of my “plus or minus” daily goal until it does.  I also attribute that to my conservative estimates while eating out so much over the weekend.  Ok, enough about weight!

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“It is only when I give up that I see the answers God put before me. It is only when I stop trying to control that my life goes smoothly.” — For Today, p. 17

Why is it that, no matter how many times I hear someone say, “I’m struggling to let go,” and how many times I think of that as an insane contradiction, I still perpetrate the same ironic reality on a regular, if not daily, basis?  Struggling to let go – it seems like the very phrase would teach the struggler their efforts were futile.  The Nike ad slogan comes to mind, “Just do it!” but that is so much easier said than done.     I know we humans often fail to recognize even the most harmful toxins when they begin to sing us our lullabies, and the enemy seems bent on distracting us from the fact that our souls are attached to our sober sanity.  Surely to feel empowered and in control, to satiate our every desire is to be preferred over self-denial and surrender!  That lie from the spiritual realms echoes that of our every cell of our natural flesh.

 

 

From Proverbs 25:

28 Like a city whose walls are broken down

            is a man who lacks self-control.”

I have resisted writing much about self-control because I always felt duplicitous acknowledging God’s control and claiming to be self-controlled.  But God showed me over the last week that it is not a contradiction to say one is self-disciplined and God-disciplined.  The master-disciple relationship requires two.  I deny, rein-in, or control myself in order to submit to the will of God, who has my best interest in mind and is faithful to complete His perfecting work in me.  This sanctification, or removal of character defects, is done gradually as I continually submit more and more of myself to His perfect will.

 

It’s getting late, and I think I’m starting to ramble.  I didn’t get to all my devotional reading today, but I was about helping others from the time the sun came up until the calendar flipped.  Good night!

 

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

