Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Yesterday, I failed to keep my commitment to help some and harm none.  Weakened with three of the four conditions defined by the acronym “HALT” (Hungry, Angry, Lonely, Tired), I allowed my emotions to run away with my serenity.  Shortly thereafter, recognizing my weakness, I took a partial day off, went home, and got some much needed sleep.  …Eleven hours!  Perhaps in so doing, I allowed my Higher Power, God, to renew my physical body to keep up with my spirit.  I am reminded of Jesus’ description of His closest disciples in Gethsemane on the night He was betrayed, “The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.” (Matthew 26:41)

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We believe that no amount of willpower or self-determination could have saved us. Times without number, resolutions and plans were shattered as we saw our individual resources fail.” — Overeaters Anonymous, Second Edition, p. 3

Yes, this describes me exactly!  It is why my Higher Power, God, is the only power that can fuel me through, and why my spiritual connection to Him must remain my highest priority.  Self-interest will block my progress every time.

I also observed a comment of the VOR contributor to be of particular importance:

“I can’t imagine a group who knows more about nutrition, exercise, and diets. If knowledge alone were enough to cure us, we wouldn’t be here.”

If we aren’t careful, we can lapse into a nutrition and wellness support group mindset, where micronutrients and exercise routines take center stage.  OA’s recovery program is a spiritual one, with abstinence (self-denial) and reliance on God at its core.  It is important to let the first things be first.  I have to remember that with my sponsorees and fellows.  My plan is not to become their plan, but their plan is to become more and more reliant on their Higher Power, Who I trust will reveal more of Himself to them and me as we journey this road of recovery.

 

 A New Thing:

I am going to do something different today.  Rather than speed through my reading and try to post a synopsis, I am going to post what I have so far, then continue on my daily plan, complete with exercise routine and departure to work.  I will let go of what I expected of myself as far as getting everything done on my timetable, and will commit to reading my passages as I have opportunity.  If I find something I can’t resist sharing, maybe I’ll be back.  Otherwise, I’ll talk to you tomorrow.  God bless you with serenity, courage, wisdom, and the opportunity and resources to help and not harm someone today according to the will of God!  (…all the things I ask for myself.)

