Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I am severely lacking in sleep, but I’m up and going.  Today is National Back to Church Day, and I am eager to be there to extend whatever welcome I can to those who may be newcomers or returning.  OA meetings aren’t the only ones at which I can be supportive, especially when I consider my need to “practice these principles in all of our affairs” according to the Twelfth Step.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“By accepting my past and the truth about my life today, I’ve found the absolute joy of realizing what a gift this life is. Now I live with an attitude of gratitude as my spiritual sight. These eyes of mine that were cloudy and dim for so long grow clearer one day at a time.”

When I first began to hear them, I didn’t really believe the part of The Promises (of Alcoholics Anonymous) that says, “We will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it.”  I remember thinking, “I don’t know about ‘we’ but as for me, I look forward to slamming that door with a vengeance!”  The opportunity for me to warp the door frame with my fury never came, but looking back I can see that whatever hatch I might have sealed on the past would have only trapped me in the sinking ship of my emotional turmoil, to drown in my regrets.  Daily, I am reminded that God has made beautiful things, and I am finding my place as one of them, becoming ever more so as I continue to submit to His will and purpose for my life.  Awakened as a result of working the Twelve Steps, my spiritual eyes are the ones that can see me as such.  They compensate for the emotional eyes that only saw gloom and gray weather and the physical eyes that seemed to be fixed on the image in the mirror.

 

 

 

From Proverbs 16:

32 Better a patient man than a warrior,
a man who controls his temper than one who takes a city.”

I am at work now, because I could not finish my devotion before church this morning.  There were a bunch of verses in today’s chapter that stung me as I read them.  I lost my temper with a belligerent customer just a little while ago, and I am ashamed, not just that responded rudely, but that I did so soon after such a spiritual high as my worship time was this morning.  It is not fitting!  I need to remember this verse, and adopt it.  When I am responding with rudeness to overcome rudeness, warring evil with more of itself, I have forfeited my patience and serenity, and given my power over to the emotions of the moment.  That aggressive man was likely spiritually sick, but rather than show compassion, I caught what he was spewing.  With the taste of bitterness and shame still in my mouth, reading verses 1, 5, 7, 10, 23, 27, 29, and 32 was especially hard.  (They share a theme of pride, hateful speech, and a warring spirit.)

God, clean me of my imperfections, and help me grow out of them.  “My Creator, I am now willing that You should have all of me, good and bad.  I pray that You now remove from me every single defect of character that stands in the way of my usefulness to You and my fellows.  Grant me strength as I go out from here to do Your bidding.  Amen!”  (from Seventh Step Prayer, AA, p. 76)

