Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

It is a good thing we get to live life one day at a time, because yesterday is not one I would like to repeat.  I got to experience a full range of emotions, the climax of which was fear, when a stranger test-driving my car, began to take me away to a place I told him not to go and refused to comply with my repeated instructions to turn the vehicle around.  It ended safely, and I harmed him not one bit while still ensuring that I would not be a victim.  Trust God, and thank Him for the 2nd Amendment!   Prior to that, one call I made to show the car turned into a twelfth-step opportunity, as the man was a fellow sufferer, still in his denial and dying from it.  As we parted, he thanked me for the hope I had shared with him!  You never know when an opportunity will arise.   I did later sell the car after experiencing every emotion in the spectrum.  It was quite a day!

Today I return to work.  I am looking forward to finding people to help and not harm as I go about my duties of employment.

 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“We pray about these things, not so we can get our way, but so we can bring our will regarding them into alignment with God’s will.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, pp. 94-95

“Alignment with God’s will”!  They’re singing my song!  I love that phrase.  Today I take my stand underneath the blessing-flow of God, and right where I find Him leading me to be for the sake of His purposes and pleasure.  My own purposes and pleasures are hereby demoted to last concern.  Even so, He often grants them.  Psalm 37:4 says, “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  It seems backwards, but once I surrender my desires to His purposes, many times, as long as they do not clash, I find a blessing with my name on it that only He could have orchestrated.  Christ Himself prayed that the chalice of His death sentence might pass from Him, but submitted, “Yet not as I will, but as You will.” (Matthew 26:39I am willing to put my will behind and below God’s today.  It always works out best.

 

 

From Proverbs 13:

21 Misfortune pursues the sinner,
but prosperity is the reward of the righteous.”

Wisdom teaches that proper alignment with God’s will (“righteousness”) sets us up to receive blessing.  That doesn’t mean that turning to God will make one rich in material things, but it does mean that God’s rewards are unlocked in the physical world when we turn from the thoughts, feelings, behaviors and attitudes that cut us off from Him spiritually (“sin”).  Proverbs 11:31 says, “If the righteous receive their due on earth, how much more the ungodly and the sinner!”  Not all rewards are stored up for the Day of Deliverance and Judgment.  The Father of Lights, who knows how to give good gifts, will graciously give us good things, according to His will and good measure, as we continue to submit and practice generous love ourselves.  (Matthew 7:11, James 1:17, Luke 6:38)

 

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 40 and 41:

As the exiles were being led to Babylon, and the poorest Jews were left behind to work the land, an imperial official recognized Jeremiah in chains and had him freed with a blessing, a present, and an offer to go anywhere he liked, including in the company and care of the official.  Jeremiah chose to return to Judah and be the guest of the governor, Gedaliah, who had been appointed by the Babylonian commander.

Upon hearing that Judah was being overseen by Gedaliah, one of the royal cousins, Ishmael son of Nethaniah, responded with a vengeance and slaughtered Gedaliah, many of the Jews who had taken up residence in Mizpah, and the Babylonian guards in the city.  He filled a military cistern with the bodies of his victims and drove many off into captivity.  This roused the attention of Johanan son of Kareah and his army, who responded and defeated Ishmael’s army, although Ishmael himself escaped.  Johanan led the released captives to Egypt, by way of Bethlehem, to escape the Babylonians, afraid of reprisals for Ishmael’s uprising.

God had foretold, though Jeremiah, that he would bring death by the sword to all who remained in the land, but that the exiles would enjoy His care and provision under the Babylonians.  I cannot fathom why Jeremiah would then choose to go to the governor he knew was doomed.  I also find it interesting that, for fear of imperial persecution, the lot from Mizpah fled to Egypt from Bethlehem.  This would happen again to a very special Jewish family much later in history. (Matthew 2:13-19)

 

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 4243:

“I have since been brought into a way of living infinitely more satisfying and, I hope, more useful than the life I lived before. My old manner of life was by no means a bad one, but I would not exchange its best moments for the worst I have now. I would not go back to it even if I could.”

Me either!

 

 

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

