Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Yesterday I postponed my gym workout until later in the day and was amazed at how much less I could do under those circumstances.  Everything felt heavier.  Still, I got a lot done that I needed to do, and did it according to reasonable priorities, so I consider the day a success.  I even got to attend a Monday meeting I have missed a lot lately.  It was good to see fellows I hadn’t seen in a while!

Today, I’m a little late getting this finished, but it’s because a service opportunity presented itself, and I was privileged to respond. 

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I finally succumbed to the idea that ‘nothing, absolutely nothing’ is without design and purpose. It was a simple gift, really. I asked; I received. Suddenly the door of faith swung open widely enough for me to concede that God does exist, and He engineers circumstances to bring about my highest good.”

Even though I grew up with a head-knowledge of Scripture, I used to recoil at the statement I heard often, “Everything happens for a reason.”  Everything?  I was convinced that some things must surely happen because somewhere, somebody dropped the ball.  It was that kind of thinking that had me constantly trying to keep all the balls in the air in my own mad circus act.  When this reality that all things are being masterfully orchestrated by the Great Designer really sank into my thinking, I was relieved of my self-appointed responsibility to outdo Him, oversee His work, and improve upon His product.  God is on His throne.  …and I am not!   Halleluiah!  Things are as they were designed to be.

This thinking, by the way, even freed me up from the resentments of my circumstantial disappointments, because in accepting all things as God’s orchestration, I recognized that even my detours and derailments were instrumental to bringing me to the point at which I exist today.  How could I have arrived at now without all those thens?  And how will I be prepared to handle all my whens if I don’t embrace my new nows as they come?

 

From Proverbs 11:

Proverbs 11 has always reminded me of twin towers, but especially so on a day when the world remembers the devastation and loss, but also the heroic response of so many, on September 11, 2001.  This chapter stands wickedness next to righteousness and compares the two in almost every verse.  The convicting part for me is that there are parts of me in every account, and this, too is condemned by the text of this chapter, and the chastisement follows well the meditation from yesterday on solidarity of mind and heart.  (click for prayer references from yesterday.)

The integrity of the upright guides them,
but the unfaithful are destroyed by their duplicity.”

The aspect of Wisdom I desire most is to be of uniform mind and purpose, in congruence with God’s will, at all times.  Wavering is stressful on my mind, spirit, and body.  Integrity, oneness, is what I need and desire!

Great God, grant that I would be perfectly aligned with Your Spirit, will, and purpose.  Rain on me Your sustenance, that I may not neglect others for my self-centered fear.  Provide me with power to meet the needs of those You bring to my attention.  Help me be helpful, never harmful, to Your children, including myself.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 38:

Jeremiah found himself in a bitter morass of his own, but it wasn’t of self-pity; it was at the bottom of a well, where he was thrown because the truth he had been telling made him less than popular.  Imagine your entire country is about to go to war, and you are instructed by God to go around telling people they will never win, and that their only hope is to surrender.  That message is bound to get you thrown into something unsavory.

Rumor of Jeremiah’s plight made it to one of the palace advisors and the king approved a rescue.  He ordered him to a private meeting and told Jeremiah to tell him the truth.  Imagine Jeremiah’s reluctance!

15 Jeremiah said to Zedekiah, ‘If I give you an answer, will you not kill me? Even if I did give you counsel, you would not listen to me.’”

Ever feel like all your options are pointless and your work is meaningless?  Here is despair!  The king gave him all assurances and Jeremiah delivered the same truth he had been giving, and issued yet another chance and a warning.

17 Then Jeremiah said to Zedekiah, ‘This is what the Lord God Almighty, the God of Israel, says: ‘If you surrender to the officers of the king of Babylon, your life will be spared and this city will not be burned down; you and your family will live. 18 But if you will not surrender to the officers of the king of Babylon, this city will be handed over to the Babylonians and they will burn it down; you yourself will not escape from their hands.’”

God still offers me the chance to submit and be humble before I am subjected to the humiliation of His correction, just as He offers all mankind the option of surrender or destruction. It is the same message the prophets of old repeatedly ministered and for which they were often killed: “Return to God or suffer the consequences of separation!”

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 28:

“If what we have learned and felt and seen means anything at all, it means that all of us, whatever our race, creed, or color are the children of a living Creator with whom we may form a relationship upon simple and understandable terms as soon as we are willing and honest enough to try.”

 

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

