Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Today, I had to make some changes in my plan to accommodate my annual physical.  So fasting, or rather postponing breakfast until 11:00, means shifting all meals back to avoid overstuffing or hunger.  It also meant that, instead of my usual breakfast, I selected some more portable options to carry with me that, unfortunately, contain more sodium.  It’s a give and take.

The results of my physical were great!  I am glorifying God for a 7.9% body fat composition, 131 mg/dL total cholesterol, and a blood pressure of 104/72 without medication.  There were other markers of great health, but these stuck in my mind as especially worthy of celebration.  God makes wonderful things, and the more of them I use in the construction of my body, the more of one He makes out of me!

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Intuition is supposed to be God’s direct line into our minds and hearts…” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 22

How appropriate!  Yesterday’s entry focused on meditation, and now we have intuition, the perceived answer or insight as a result of our inward and upward gaze.  I want to remain open and available to the instruction of God.  How better than to still the mind and body and just listen?  Asserting my will and whining about it not being fulfilled are two sure-fire ways of shutting off the flow of communication from God to me.  As soon as I sacrifice my complaining ego, I am always refreshed with a renewed sense of connection with God.  Sometimes it is instructional, other times palpably passionate, but always relational, affirming that He is there and that I am His.

From Proverbs 6:

if you have been trapped by what you said,
ensnared by the words of your mouth…
Free yourself, like a gazelle from the hand of the hunter,
like a bird from the snare of the fowler.”

We, who are recovering from the inferiority complex that usually accompanies addiction, might tend to overextend ourselves in order to achieve the acceptance, approval and love of others.  This proverb warns against leveraging oneself as collateral for another.  It is easy to want to rush in and save those we see struggling, but it might just be that their struggle is teaching them something.  This is one of those lines drawn between serving others and living others’ lives.  I’m glad God makes such delineations, because these are the areas where black and white begin to fade into gray for me.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 32:

The text today fits me as well as yesterday’s!

33 They turned their backs to me and not their faces; though I taught them again and again, they would not listen or respond to discipline.”

38 They will be my people, and I will be their God. 39 I will give them singleness of heart and action, so that they will always fear me for their own good and the good of their children after them. 40 I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me, so that they will never turn away from me.”

It is I who had departed from God’s will for me, and it was I who tainted my vitality with my own will.  His correction has brought me to this place of humility, and I willingly submit to His plan, His will, His Way, and accept His provision for my entire life.  To the glory of God the Father, Christ be praised!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 47:

“As soon as a man can say that he does believe, or is willing to believe, we emphatically assure him that he is on his way. It has been repeatedly proven among us that upon this simple cornerstone a wonderfully effective spiritual structure can be built.”

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

