Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I will spend today with friends at an amusement park.  I have decided to play the health-necessity card at the entry gate and take certain foods with me.  That has curbed some of my anxiety over the meal accommodations.  I know that the Lord will provide.  I just don’t want to be the proverbial drowning man on a rooftop and hear God say, “I gave you two coolers and a lunchbox!”

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“I do not need to fear failure. I need, rather, the peace of mind that comes with taking the action I have been putting off.” — For Today, p. 168

Choosing wisely and doing without are two actions that work regardless of my surroundings.  They are two actions with which I have never fully trusted myself.  Today, to a degree, I will put them to the test.

Surrender is not an on or off toggle switch.  It is a rotary dial with infinite settings.  As I find myself comfortable with a new level of surrender, which I feel at the time is complete, God reveals something new for me to give up, something else I have withheld.

What is fear keeping me from doing or giving up today?  How can I exercise my willingness to surrender just a little bit more?

From Proverbs 3:

31 Do not envy the violent
or choose any of their ways.”

I’m taking this one with me today, and I am going to recall the harm I have done to my own body over the years, and associate it with violence.  It’s not really a stretch, considering the beating my body took at the hands of compulsive overeating!  I will be surrounded by self-indulgence, and tempted by all sorts of circus treats and ballpark meats.  It will help me to consider them the ways of the violent.  They have nothing I want.  God is everything I need!

A friend of mine wrote a book called, Trust God and Buy Broccoli.  I like this concept.  I can trust in my Maker and still be responsible to diligently harvest His provision in good season.  (Thus, the two coolers and the lunchbox!)

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 29:

God instructed Israel, through Jeremiah’s letter, to prosper in their exile, to settle down, build homes, and enjoy the fruit of their gardens.  They were told to behave in a way that would bring good and not harm to their captors, praying for peace as members of their communities and fellow benefactors of its prosperity.   It is in this setting, this promise of divine oversight during a seventy-year exile to Babylon, that God gave this insight into His esteem for Israel and for me and for you, dear reader:

11 ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’”

God is not torturing us; He is providing us a blessed future if we submit to Him.

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63:

“God, I offer myself to Thee—to build with me and to do with me as Thou wilt. Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will. Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy Power, Thy Love, and Thy Way of life. May I do Thy will always!” We thought well before taking this step making sure we were ready; that we could at last abandon ourselves utterly to Him.”

(For the sake of accountability, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

