Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

I’ve got a lot planned today; lots of opportunities to help others.  More just keep popping up.  It is nice being flexible enough to bend my plans for the plans of God in the ministry of the needs of others.  God’s will, not mine, be done!

By the way, I found a neat resource and wanted to share it:   Underground Heath Reporter.

Also, I read an article last week about how best to select and store produce.  I only changed a couple things as a result, but both of them proved amazing results.  The biggest news for me: get those tomatoes out of the fridge!   Check it out for yourself if you like: Men’s Health – How to Pick the Best Produce.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“My best thinking got me into trouble. I could ‘think’ my life to suit me; the only problem was that it didn’t work.” — For Today, p. 298

I like this!  I can almost feel the forehead slap and hear the “Doh!” that accompanies it.  The Scriptural accompaniment to this epiphany that came to mind was Matthew 6:27, “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”  Some might think this has nothing to do with an eating obsession, but look how this passage begins in verse 25: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body…”  Herein lies the original “one day at a time” imperative.  Why I missed it for so long is a profound mystery.  …No, it isn’t.  My eyes and “best thinking” were blinded by self-will!

34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

 

 

From Proverbs 31:

Okay, it’s the 31st; Bride of Christ instruction time.  I don’t always get to the “Perfect Wife” epilogue since not every month has 31 days; but when I do, it is important for me to aim these passages at myself rather than compare any other wives I know to them.

Diligence was the lesson for me today.  It is not enough to just meditate and pray.  God expects the relationship I have with Him to prove itself in the things I do, and the choices I make.  Sloth is not a character trait of the Bride of Christ, and so it shall not be with me!

13 She selects wool and flax
and works with eager hands”

God, continue to fashion me into a favorable prize for the King of kings, one in whom He can be proud.  Help me, for as long as I inhabit this practice-field of Earth, to demonstrate the kind of selfless love to my own wife that You demonstrated for Your bride, the Church.

 

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 27:

In this chapter, I was amazed to read of Jeremiah’s instruction to build a yoke and wear it around the city, telling his hearers that they would be subjugated to the Babylonian king, Nebuchadnezzar.  Why would God subject His people to a king he had already pronounced judgment upon?  The answer is simple: He does what He does, and my reasoning is not His reasoning.

With my great power and outstretched arm I made the earth and its people and the animals that are on it, and I give it to anyone I please.”

We, who find ourselves afflicted are often tempted to ask “Why?”  It is a natural question, but the need for an answer is as carnal as the craving for any other self-indulgence.  God will do as He will!  Proverbs 16:4 explains that, “The LORD works out everything for his own ends— even the wicked for a day of disaster.”  He has already made clear that was His intentions for Babylon, but He still had a plan for using them to perfect His nation, Israel.  It would be there that Daniel and his companions would be tested and emerge.  Who knows what else lies behind the reasoning of the Omniscient One?  None but Him!

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 85:

“Every day is a day when we must carry the vision of God’s will into all of our activities.”

 

(For accountability’s sake, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

