Abstinent Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“If I don’t know which way to go, I turn the problem over to God in Steps Three and Eleven, completely confident that the answer will come.” — For Today, p. 25

 

I like the hope represented in this statement.  God will certainly direct us when we seek Him.  The risk here is that I will somehow begin to believe that there are things I can do without God’s help.  This is a lie that has gotten me into a lot of trouble in the past.  I have to seek God’s direction in everything, not just the problems that are too much for me.  Recognizing that I cannot even breathe without God keeps me seeking Him in all things.  Asking that His will be done in all my affairs keeps me securely within that will, under His direction, and in place to receive His blessing rather than His correction.  The For Today contributor wrote of a “complete confidence” that I never want to be without.

 

From Proverbs 30:

Every word of God is flawless;
he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.”

Here’s more fuel for the “complete confidence” we are building as we learn to trust God with our whole lives.  For me, studying and knowing God’s Word is elemental to my shelter in Him.  It is how I can know His will for me.

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 26:

13 Now reform your ways and your actions and obey the Lord your God. Then the Lord will relent and not bring the disaster he has pronounced against you.”

God has demonstrated His eagerness for His people to turn back to Him throughout history.  He always seems willing to give another chance, even if we are unwilling to accept it.

In this chapter I read of a prophet who didn’t even make the list of “minor prophets” of the Old Testament.  Uriah son of Shemaiah is described in verses 20 – 23 and that is all.  He, like many other prophets who we do hear more about, got scared and fled from his assignment.  The untold part of his story must be somewhere in the stories of those who did submit and were faithful to their calling.  Uriah’s story has no mention of any repentance, and ends with his execution rather than deliverance.

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 57:

“Even so has God restored us all to our right minds. To this man, the revelation was sudden. Some of us grow into it more slowly. But He has come to all who have honestly sought Him. When we drew near to Him He disclosed Himself to us!”

 

 

(For accountability’s sake, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

