Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

Wow!  Big things happened yesterday!  I did not make it back to bed, but I did discover the urgent need for prayer-time that I hadn’t spent.  My now twenty year-old birthday-boy man announced that he had discovered and wished to avail himself of a unique opportunity to enroll late in a Christian ministry college a thousand miles away, but he needed to enroll with tuition due upon arrival by Friday.  (Yes, tomorrow!)  The dizzying chain of events that set in motion spun through the day and concluded with an affirmative vote from me and mine along with whatever modest financial contribution I can contribute.  The timing has God’s signature on it, as only the day before, I had received some much needed relief regarding his sister’s college loans, which I am still paying off, but now at a trickle rather than a storm’s pace.

The bottom line is this: I have been asking God for Him to show His will to my son, and give him the power to carry that out, as I pray for myself the same thing.  What I have not prayed was for God to show His will for my son to me.  It is not for me to see another’s path.  It is for me to trust God to do what He will, and to support, not hinder, His movement in the lives of those around me, including my son.  As I heard myself explain it to my wife, “How can we pray for God’s will, then object when it is revealed?”

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Once we compulsive overeaters truly take the Third Step, we cannot fail to recover.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 27

One we decide, really decide, to turn our will and our lives – lock, stock and barrel – over to the care of God and His will for us, disappointment fades away because expectations are His, not ours.  Anxiety vanishes because our future becomes His responsibility, not ours.  We cannot fail to recover because we no longer lean on our own understanding, power, or perception, but on His.  Riding in the hand of the Emperor of the Universe, where could we fall?  What could possibly overcome?  Who could we possibly blame?  What might we ever legitimately fear?

“What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31)

 

 

From Proverbs 23:

24 The father of a righteous man has great joy;
he who has a wise son delights in him.”

God speaks even in the language of my preoccupations, and this was an example today.  Junior chose Global Missions for his ministry emphasis.  When I asked why, he said that he had heard my wife and me speak of our passion for missions, and was led in a similar direction.  Every once in a while, my children hit a growing spurt and, afterwards, I hardly recognize them.  We must have just gone through a spiritual one!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 19:

15 “This is what the Lord Almighty, the God of Israel, says: ‘Listen! I am going to bring on this city and the villages around it every disaster I pronounced against them, because they were stiff-necked and would not listen to my words.’”

The species of man has fallen.  Long before I was born, and without any of my involvement, the condition of mankind became one of stiff-necked rebellion.  Our failure to listen to and follow the Word and Will of God will result in ultimate destruction for all who choose to remain in that condition.  This reality is proved and foreshadowed in the small mini-devastations and rewards along the journey of life and of history itself, even in this disastrous leveling of Israel long ago.  Who am I to insist that things go my way if I am really submitted to God’s will?

God, give me a limber neck and open ears, to hear, follow, and obey Your perfect will.  You will, not mine, be done!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “The European Drinker”:

“…when a man is truly trying to do God’s will, instead of his own, he is very conscious of being in the presence of God always, wherever he may be.”

 

 

(For accountability’s sake, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

