Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

 

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…some of us have supplemented our OA program with therapy from qualified professionals…” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 51

I appreciate the value of a good counselor.  Before I came into recovery myself, I helped people in my professional organization find appropriate counseling, recovery treatment, or other kinds of therapy.  While not a counselor myself, I peer-coached under the supervision of a mental health counselor who took a great deal of interest in my recovery in its fledgling year.  I availed myself of his wise advice, as we chatted daily about replacing old habits with new, about the Twelve Steps, sponsorship, and spiritual progress.  There was a great deal of overlap between living recovery and helping others, so I was encouraged to study on Twelve-Step recovery even at work.

My struggling peers were encouraged to breathe deeply, to live through their troubles one moment at a time, to disconnect from major decisions but take the small steps toward the next right thing when they came, and to quickly follow-through on their cry for help by seeing a competent, qualified, counselor.  “Everyone could benefit from counseling, but only those hurting seem willing enough to try it,” I would often say.   It is astonishing to note how many in recovery, perfectly willing to admit they have a compulsive behavioral disorder, still deny themselves the benefit of professional counseling!

God, bless Your servants, the professional therapists, who do their best to follow You and serve others.   And bless those courageous few of us willing to seek out good counsel.  Help us find it, and follow it closer to the health and vitality You intended for us.

 

From Proverbs 18:

 “15 The heart of the discerning acquires knowledge;
the ears of the wise seek it out.”

I love it when the “Book of Wisdom” affirms the thoughts God already put in my head for the day!

It also occurred to me that those who refuse to avail themselves of the benefit of counseling, which is a recognized health-benefit in most states now, paid for by most health insurance, are really just stranded in their own self-will.  Most objections to counseling I have heard bellow self-sufficiency.  “My problems are not that bad,” “I can deal with it on my own,” “I have other things to do with my time,” “I don’t trust counselors,” all represent a person’s wish to have it their own way and keep it that way, even when their own way has caused them enough distress to be on the phone or in the office with a peer-support coach or in the rooms of recovery!

Some say there is a stigma to being the client of a therapist.  There should be a negative stigma to anyone who isn’t!  This proverb defines those who seek and acquire knowledge as “wise” and “discerning.”  Wear those labels on your way to your next appointment!

 

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 14:

22 Do any of the worthless idols of the nations bring rain?
Do the skies themselves send down showers?
No, it is you, O Lord our God.
Therefore our hope is in you,
for you are the one who does all this.”

All healing, all health, all provision, all blessing comes from God.  It is He who watches us and, knowing our need, leads us to its fulfillment.  Like a frightened deer who thinks she is alone but glances this way and that before putting her tongue to the stream, we are mostly unaware that the water, its rocks, the soil, and every tree of the forest was placed there by God Almighty, who continually cares for us and orchestrates our environment to meet our needs.  God doesn’t come into our lives when we turn to Him; He was there all along!

Psalm 139:13, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

James 1:17, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

 

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Forward to Second Edition”:

“From this doctor, the Broker had learned the grave nature of alcoholism.”

 

(For accountability’s sake, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

