Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more* day at a time.  †

It’s hard to be helpful while lying in a sickbed.  I am refraining from harming others by keeping away from them, and I am allowing God to heal me by resting as much as possible.  I feel conflicted by not going to work, but I guess this is the intended purpose for “sick days.”

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Step Eleven is both a practical necessity and a spiritual dream come true.”

Whether one understands God as a universal congress of electrons, a mighty grandfather with a quiver of thunderbolts, or something else entirely, when we come to Step Eleven and begin, some for the first time, to seek Him, to connect with Him, and to really apply our best concept of His perfection to our own lives, offering ourselves as canvass on which the Master can draw what He wishes us to become, the Mysterious God will undoubtedly reveal more of Himself to us.  Knowing this relieves me of the need to proselytize the fellowship of already conflicted souls.  When people seek God, He will be found by them. (References)  As they continue to connect with Him, He is bound to reveal His personality to them.  It is for me to submit to His will for me, and refrain from inflicting my will on others.

From Proverbs 17:

Is God at odds with God?  Or could it be that the millennia of religious arguments of man stem from the misunderstandings of man and his unwillingness to bend from them?  In reading some blogs of Christians I respect over the last few days of rest, I have come upon the occasional point of contention.  Rather than attempt to argue them to my way of thinking, I recognized that each of us, like blind men visiting an elephant, will experience and report a quite different experience.  For me to condemn the man’s vantage point on the other side of the room is to claim omniscience, when I am merely a fellow blind man.  The proverb of the day affirms this choice as wise.

14 Starting a quarrel is like breaching a dam;

so drop the matter before a dispute breaks out.”

It is much better to embrace the common than to pick at the diversity between two brothers.  I used to find pleasure in the winning of an argument, but this chapter also condemns that indulgence.

19 He who loves a quarrel loves sin…”

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 13:

In this chapter, I caught a glimpse of the loving heart of God, which is obviously wrought by the choices of His chosen ones.  He is confined by His own contract with them, and suffers at their refusal to turn from self-will.

15 Hear and pay attention,
do not be arrogant,
for the Lord has spoken.”

17 But if you do not listen,
I will weep in secret
because of your pride;
my eyes will weep bitterly,
overflowing with tears,
because the Lord’s flock will be taken captive.”

Perfect Father, forgive me for behaving in ways that cause You grief.  In my musings of Heaven, I have failed to recognize that the One who wipes away all tears still cries them Himself.  I offer the remainder of my life to You to build with it whatever brings You joy.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 13:

“There I humbly offered myself to God, as I then understood Him, to do with me as He would. I placed myself unreservedly under His care and direction. I admitted for the first time that of myself I was nothing; that without Him I was lost. I ruthlessly faced my sins and became willing to have my new-found Friend take them away, root and branch. I have not had a drink since.”

 

(For accountability’s sake, the details of my eating are posted in my online food log.)

