Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time. *

Photo credit: International Canoe Federation (click for source)From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“With one hand rowing the Steps and the other hand rowing the Fellowship, I have no free hands with which to overeat.  God is on board directing me to the dry land of a contented abstinence.”

“Contented abstinence” is really the gold medal of the game.  Isn’t it?  As I work the Twelve Step Program of recovery, my goal is to get closer and closer to my Higher Power and more and more content living without my substance, my behavior(s), or my will.  I like that phrase!

By Your Grace, dear Lord, help me live out a contented abstinence, not just submitted, but grateful and serene.

From Proverbs 12:

“He who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm.”

Photo credit: ABC (click for source)I was doing just fine waiting in the parking lot for the diagnostic clinic to open this morning.  I spent the time reading words of wisdom from many sources, and felt good.  Even though I had postponed my breakfast for the fasting blood test, and gotten up early to take my wife to work in order to share the family car, I was at peace.  Even when I found the clinic I planned to patronize closed and dark, diverting me to a much busier one that opened much later, I remained  calm.  When the line formed at the door after my hour-long wait, consisting of all those who had arrived after but would be seen before me, I recognized it for what it was: the consequences of my choice to wait comfortably in the car.  But as that line grew longer, I began to burn with a desire to be a companion of those poor, misguided, waiters-in-line, and as I heard one more car pull up, I quickly grabbed up my paperwork and, determined not to have to wait behind one more late-comer, promptly locked myself out of the car.  With the keys dangling in the ignition, I left the car alone, and rushed to join the line I so resented only moments before.  As they entered the clinic, all I could do to amend my thinking was to hold the door for them, even that last one I had harmed myself trying to race.

Oh, Dear God, make peace, patience, and kindness my first response, and not just an afterthought.  Keep me from the harm that comes when I envy my companions, or turn my attention from Who You Are to what they have, say, or do.  Forgive me of greed, and cleanse me of it.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 9:

24 but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,’ declares the Lord.”

What in the world could I know, have, or accomplish that compares to the marvelous wonder of knowing personally the God of all creation, the Father of us all?

Thank You, Papa, for seeking me, finding me, buying me back, and brining me home!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 83:

“So we clean house with the family, asking each morning in meditation that our Creator show us the way of patience, tolerance, kindliness and love.

The spiritual life is not a theory. We have to live it.”

