Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time. *

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“My Higher Power was now restoring me through my Step work with the same care and knowledge that the artist used to restore her painting in the gallery.”

I, like many before me, thought Step Two was redundant when I first read it, since I have been a believer in my Creator from childhood, well acquainted with His power.  What I had to come to believe in was my Re-Creator.  Somehow, my mind was polluted with the sick notion that, whatever I wanted to be, I had to become by my own will, wish and way.  This led to crippling shame because of the failure of recognizing I was not, and seemed powerless to become, what I wanted to be.  When I came to a palpable understanding that God would do the work in me I already knew He could do, then I was freed to stop resisting Him with my own will and turn back into His care.   I heard it said this way when I was early in recovery:

“I had to learn to lean back into the hands that held me.”

I often meditate on that thought, as well as words like renew, regenerate, revive, restore, and reconstruct.  I celebrate that He is using the beautiful things He made to remake me out of those beautiful things into a beautiful thing myself.  I am part of the “very good” creation God has made (Genesis 1:31), and He is willing to return me to that condition if I stop resisting.  The good news is He does the hard part, He is willing to do the same for any willing to turn to Him, and He will continue His work to completion as we humbly submit our lives to His care.   The sixth day miracle of creation is only outdone by the restorative work He continually does one-day-at-a time.

 

Beautiful Things

by Gungor

(Regardless of your understanding of God, I know this song will be a blessing of regeneration.)

From Proverbs 8:

The Spirit of Wisdom who, according to verse 30 was “the craftsman at (the Creator’s) side,” rejoiced in creation and delighted in mankind (verse 31).  She offers Herself to be found by the created, and promises benefit by those in relationship with Her.

17 I love those who love me,
and those who seek me find me.”

This promise and relationship is more fully described in 1 Corinthians 2:6-16.  It is by this mysterious spiritual connection that I am linked to all of the Triune God: Papa the Architect, Emmanuel the Benefactor, and Wisdom the Mothering Craftsman, Counselor and Comforter.  They are the “us” in Genesis 1:26, “Then God said, ‘Let us make man in our image…’ ”  The Head, the Flesh, and the Breath are all reaching across eternity to their beloved created ones for one purpose – to reclaim and restore us.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 6:

As God demonstrated by flooding primordial earth, and again in the ransacking of Jerusalem, the consequences of our choices are coming.  Our own physical bodies have testified that running on self-will is destructive!  There is no neutral half-way position.  Mankind has chosen rebellion, and we are required to turn from that rebellion in order to receive God’s abundant life.  This supernatural vitality exists in eternity and we have the option of living in its earthly foreshadow even now, depending on the level of our submission.  To resist is to oppose, and to oppose is to choose destruction for oneself.

16 This is what the Lord says:

‘Stand at the crossroads and look;
ask for the ancient paths,
ask where the good way is, and walk in it,
and you will find rest for your souls.
But you said, ‘We will not walk in it.’ ”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, “Rum, Radio and Rebellion”:

“After another of my ‘never again episodes’ she packed up and left for her parents’ home in Florida. Her parting words were ‘I am not leaving you because I don’t love you; it’s because I do love you. I can’t bear to be here when you lose the respect of others, and above all—when you lose your own self-respect.’” (emphasis mine)

