Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

Yesterday, my son and I went on a mission to seek out some of the “superfoods” that I have yet to incorporate into my plan of eating.  We brought home some new things, and I look forward to sprinkling them into my plan as the occasion presents itself.  Among the new additions are: turmeric, nori (or laver), walnuts, and chia seeds.  It is fun to explore the natural variety of God’s provision!

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…my Higher Power gives me the gift of comfort and peace one day at a time.  …Each day I find comfort in all God’s creations that I dismissed when I took comfort only from food.”

One of the devotions I read is called Our Daily Bread.  The title is an allusion to the words from the Lord’s Prayer in which followers of Christ were encouraged to ask and trust God for one day’s provision at a time.  Here, “our daily bread” represents, not baked flour and water, but all of God’s providence including food and drink, but also His peace, love, encouragement and understanding, along with whatever portion of faith He allows us – in essence, His Spirit, also called “the Comforter.”  Jesus was referred to as “the Bread of Life” (John 6:35, 48) and “the Word of God” in flesh (John 1:1, 14).  He compared Himself to manna, the mysterious bread dropped from Heaven for the Israelites’ provision during their journey in the wilderness, a substance that would spoil if hoarded more than a day’s portion at a time.  It is the Spirit of God-with-us, “Emmanuel,” on which I count for my daily comfort, peace and provision – that Spirit-breath within me that ignites my soul and fills me with purpose and joy that goes beyond the circumstantial emotions of the moment.

While the Word of God will always be enough for today, He teaches me that to overly concern myself with tomorrow is vanity.  This keeps me living contently within His providence, one day at a time, according to His grace, not my worry.  That is the formula for peace.

 

From Proverbs 6:

23 For these commands are a lamp,
this teaching is a light,
and the corrections of discipline
are the way to life”

Correction doesn’t feel like the loving discipline it is.   When it is delivered, I just feels painful.  Hebrews 12:7 says, “Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father?”  It helps me to celebrate the relationship while I am hurting, and to look for the lesson.  Instead of asking, “why me?” I have begun to ask, “What was I so unwilling to change that it took this to get my attention?”

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Jeremiah 4:

This chapter begins with the desperate plea of God for His loved ones to return, and demonstrates His own bitterness and broken heart over the consequences the unrepentant suffer as a result of their rebellion.  It reminds me of the time when I was raising small children.  After administering a spanking, I would leave them alone for a time, not just so they could cry out their momentary pain, but so I could cry in private, overcome by the bitterness of their punishment.  I sat alone, patiently waiting for their sobbing to wane so I could go back and reassure them of my love and accept their hugs if they would give them.

1 ‘If you will return, O Israel,
return to me,’
declares the Lord.
‘If you put your detestable idols out of my sight
and no longer go astray,
and if in a truthful, just and righteous way
you swear, ‘As surely as the Lord lives,’
then the nations will be blessed by him
and in him they will glory.’ ”

18 ‘Your own conduct and actions
have brought this upon you.
This is your punishment.
How bitter it is!
How it pierces to the heart!’ ”

God loves so much better than I ever have or will!  I regret it took me so long to wake up to His instruction.  For every instance I remember thinking, “God doesn’t care about this or that,” I realize I was either hoping He wouldn’t, or denying that He did in order that I could continue doing what I wanted.  Connection is far better than correction!

I come to You, Papa!  Thank You for correcting me.  Keep me connected.

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, pages 6263:

“He is the Principal; we are His agents. He is the Father, and we are His children. Most Good ideas are simple, and this concept was the keystone of the new and triumphant arch through which we passed to freedom. When we sincerely took such a position, all sorts of remarkable things followed. We had a new Employer. Being all powerful, He provided what we needed, if we kept close to Him and performed His work well. Established on such a footing we became less and less interested in ourselves, our little plans and designs.”

