Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

Cowboy Bob used to say, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all!”  Maybe that’s good advice for blogging.  …Except this is my recovery journal, so I am bound to say more than I should.  So, for days like yesterday, I apologize.  This is a new day!  One day at a time.  Right?  Good!

 

Food for Thought, a daily meditation from the Hazelden Foundation, reminded me today that, even abstinent, I will still have emotional ups and downs.  These are to be expected as a part of life.

“There will be times when we are depressed, anxious, afraid, angry, bored, and in pain. To be alive is to be subject to these negative emotions, as well as the positive ones, which we enjoy.”

The more important thing is to abstain, to forebear, or deny myself, and act according to God’s will, not react to those fluctuating emotions.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Recovery comes and remains by being faithful to surrender, prayer, and meditation on a daily basis.”

 

It occurs to me that I can’t even breathe without God’s involvement.  I think I will let go and let Him be in charge this one day at a time.

From Proverbs 29:

22 An angry man stirs up dissension,
and a hot-tempered one commits many sins.”

 

The scriptural incentive to refrain from giving myself permission to give in to feelings and emotional turbulence is overwhelmingly consistent.

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 62:

11 The Lord has made proclamation
to the ends of the earth:
“Say to the Daughter of Zion,
‘See, your Savior comes!
See, his reward is with him,
and his recompense accompanies him.’”
12 They will be called the Holy People,
the Redeemed of the Lord;
and you will be called Sought After,
the City No Longer Deserted.”

 

From Overeaters Anonymous (Second Edition), “Our Invitation to You”:

“As a result of practicing the Steps, the symptom of compulsive overeating is removed on a daily basis. Thus, for most of us, abstinence means freedom from the bondage of compulsive overeating, achieved through the process of surrendering to something greater than ourselves; the more total our surrender, the more fully realized our freedom from food obsession.”

