Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

I wanted to share another “healthy foods” article, which I will add to my “Superfoods List” page.  This one, called “Healthy Food: Fifty of the best foods in the world,” comes from the Huffington Post.  It describes fifty foods that, as long as they are not our binge foods, should add to our overall health.  I try to add as many of these powerhouse foods as I can to my plan of eating (except for the wine and chocolate).  I also read another LiveStrong article posing ideas for a healthier breakfast.

I rode my bicycle the two miles to the gym again today, since it is my day off and I have no real pressing engagements.  It feels good to be able to get out and participate in the world a little more than whizzing by in a car.  I found myself praying for people, places, and institutions along the way.  It was nice, and the ride doesn’t take long, but the way back is usually into the wind.  Whew!

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“This seems to be the key to the program and to life: being able to let go of self-will and to reach out to a power greater than myself for help.”

I remember thinking that being a “my-way addict” in addition to being a compulsive overeater was something unique to me, and that those two problems were somehow unrelated.  It was several months before I listened closely enough to hear other fellows and program material saying the same thing I had been about “my-way addiction” except they were calling it “self-will” or “self-will run riot.”  I was humbled to learn I had not discovered an original, unique problem, but had been welcomed by many more who all shared it in common with me as the real root of what ails us.  It became apparent that, like my Creator, this welcoming fellowship had been gently waiting for me to figure it out.

From Proverbs 25:

Do not exalt yourself in the king’s presence,
and do not claim a place among great men;
it is better for him to say to you, ‘Come up here,’
than for him to humiliate you before a nobleman.”

This pair of verses is hard to pass up, for the simple reason that proper humility seems to be the teeth on the key to this program of recovery.  Defining myself as welcome at the table and yet not the center of attention somehow makes removing self-will a little more possible.  Before, I had to either be in the spotlight or hidden in the shadows.  I didn’t know how to just be at the table, one of many.  I bounced back and forth between feeling unworthy or needing to be the spectacle.  That pendulum swing was traumatic, and filled my life with unnecessary stress, which I usually medicated with food and isolation.  I am no longer hiding behind the curtain or tap-dancing in front of it, but I am happy to be a guest at my Master’s table, accepting His provision for me, and relishing the relationship between Him, His other children, and me.

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 58:

This chapter contains God’s rebuke for unholy fasts and pointless observances.  His criticism is of the terminally religious who, although faithful to the traditions, rebel against the spirit of their origin and, driven by self-will, participate simultaneously in blessing God and cursing man.  He makes it very clear that loving one another is what pleases Him more than any fasting, any abstinence, any sacrifice could.  Feeding the hungry should go hand in hand with abstaining from indulgences.

Then you will call, and the Lord will answer;
you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I.

‘If you do away with the yoke of oppression,
with the pointing finger and malicious talk,
10 and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry
and satisfy the needs of the oppressed,
then your light will rise in the darkness,
and your night will become like the noonday.
11 The Lord will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.’”

I have verse 10 written on my bathroom vanity along with other purpose statement verses that I recite as I get ready for each day.  I am drawn to verses that refer to Light and Life, Spirit-power, and God’s purpose.  I try to affirm them for myself as often as I can, because I know I need them, and I know God wants me to remember this is the reason He made me, and the reason He is re-making me: to love Him and to translate His love for me into serving others.  Ephesians 2:10, “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 77:

“Our real purpose is to fit ourselves to be of maximum service to God and the people about us.”

