Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“Often we caused ourselves problems because we didn’t realize that there were some kinds of eating we could handle comfortably and some kinds we couldn’t.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 21

I shared Tuesday about a prayer I prayed way before I came into program, asking God what I should do.  Notice I said, “what I should do,” and not, “what I would do.”  The latter demonstrates willingness to follow through.  Even though I received a directive to “Eat healthy stuff,” I was not willing, then, to figure out what that meant, because I was far too committed to eating the food I wanted.  Now, I ask God to show me the kinds of things He would have me eat, I search out His answers, and I am willing to follow through.  Most of what I eat now is fairly close to natural, and an amazing majority comes from either the farmer’s market in town or the produce section at the grocery store.  The difference in between might have been a realization, but for me, it seemed more like a dawning of willingness than of cognitive awareness.  At some point, by the power of God, I became willing to admit that certain kinds of eating were contributing more to the problem than the solution.  Those had to go!

God answers prayer requests for willingness.  If He can direct my will, anything is possible!

From Proverbs 21:

1 The king’s heart is in the hand of the Lord;
he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.”

If He can direct the heart of a king, He can certainly mold the one of an earnestly praying prince.

I was actually thinking of this verse when I wrote my response to the VOR.  I found it amazing that, as I opened up Proverbs, it was right there waiting for me.  I love the way this chapter closes, though, with a reminder for me to be humble.  God gets the glory, not me!

31 The horse is made ready for the day of battle,
but victory rests with the Lord.”

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 54:

17     no weapon forged against you will prevail,
and you will refute every tongue that accuses you.
This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord,
and this is their vindication from me,”
declares the Lord.”

Being a compulsive overeater for as long as I can remember, I was also the fat, uncoordinated kid in school.  Fat kids get chosen last, and usually by the team that didn’t stand a chance to begin with, not that my being on it didn’t help to reduce its odds of winning.  This makes being on the winning team such an exhilarating prospect for me, especially considering I did nothing to earn my place on it.  I was merely selected, and chose to align myself with that selection.

Thank You, Heavenly Father, for the promise of an inheritance of victory!

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 47:

“As soon as a man can say that he does believe, or is willing to believe, we emphatically assure him that he is on his way. It has been repeatedly proven among us that upon this simple cornerstone a wonderfully effective spiritual structure can be built.”

