Today:

I am a recovering compulsive overeater, abstinent by the grace of God one more day at a time.

 

From today’s entry in Voices of Recovery:

“…and the ill will which poisoned our hearts for years is washed away.” — The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of Overeaters Anonymous, p. 75

 

The hitch in “the Golden Rule” is that doing unto others as you would have them do unto you when you are in a habit of self-loathing can be a lot like playing see-saw on a board with no fulcrum.   Neither party benefits, no one moves, and both end up sitting in the dirt wondering “why me?” and “how long?”  One even begins to despise the other for not providing the expected thrills of soaring and falling.  Allowing God’s value of me to take precedence over my feelings raises me up off ground level and gives me leverage to boost others up too.  With the new sense of satisfaction that God is enough for me and I am not a mistake, I am faced with the reality that the same is true of anyone at the far end of my teeter-board.  I begin to see others as fellow creations rather than insignificant obstacles to me getting my way.  Gratitude to their Creator makes all bitterness melt away and I am left enjoying the ups and downs of life the way they were meant to be experienced.

 

From Proverbs 20:

It is to a man’s honor to avoid strife,
but every fool is quick to quarrel.”

 

I prayed for “lack of strife” once.  I remember it well.  It was one of three things I desperately prayed for one lonely Christmas night in the mid-nineties.  I got the others: a new life and a new wife, but lack of strife eluded me until shortly after I worked Step Seven.  This verse shows why.  I was regularly bathing in strife by the quarrelsome nature of my character defects.  This reminds me that God will not cleanse me of filth I will not release.

 

God, reveal to me any outstanding resistance on my part.  Wash me completely, so I can be truly clean.  Polish me so I can be a shining reflection of Your grace, an attractant rather than repellent, in the Name of the One who purchased my righteousness with His holiness.  Amen!

 

From my reading through the Bible, currently in Isaiah 52 and 53:

This is one of my favorite parts of the Bible.  Written about seven hundred years before Christ, these chapters prophesy, in amazing detail, about Jesus’ life, passion, and sacrificial death.  When doubt begins to creep in and toy with my torch, causing the flame of my faith to flicker, I read prophecies like this or Psalm 22 and all darkness flees.

 

This familiar excerpt from Isaiah 53 gives a brief summary of Isaiah’s prophetic representation of Christ, the holy Arm of the Lord (52:10) and Faithful Servant (52:13), and also demonstrates the willful condition of man, from which we all require urgent rescue.

 

But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,
and by his wounds we are healed.
We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
each of us has turned to his own way;
and the Lord has laid on him
the iniquity of us all.”

 

Isn’t this what our recovery program has demonstrated is the root of the problem with all of us?  I have wanted my own way, and I have medicated my lack of it with all sorts of defective behavior, including eating, drinking, lying, cursing, and hating myself and everybody else.

 

This prophecy not only predicts the coming of the final Passover Lamb, but it links the end to the beginning.  It all started when Adam broke the original Abstinence and placed all mankind under the curse of God’s death sentence, “but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat of it you will surely die.(Genesis 2:17)  Self-will came between God and mankind as a result of that one sin, and we all bear the spiritual death that came about as a result.  The only answer for spiritual death is spiritual rebirth, made possible by this holy sacrifice of God Himself.  “For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ.(Romans 5:17)

 

The liberation of knowing that the payment for my transgressions has already been paid cannot be fully expressed!  I can mend my future best by accepting the gift of grace and forgiving those outside myself as I have been forgiven by the One who took on my death sentence.  Because I am no longer sentenced to death, I am freed to live and live abundantly!

 

See why I love this passage?  Thank You, God, for doing all the work!

 

From the “Big Book” of Alcoholics Anonymous, page 63:

“Being all powerful, He provided what we needed, if we kept close to Him and performed His work well. Established on such a footing we became less and less interested in ourselves, our little plans and designs. More and more we became interested in seeing what we could contribute to life. As we felt new power flow in, as we enjoyed peace of mind, as we discovered we could face life successfully, as we became conscious of His presence, we began to lose our fear of today, tomorrow or the hereafter. We were reborn.”

